dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: interface design ?

interface design ?

Im working with this possibly crazy notion..

I designed what i think is a very tight interface in Photoshop and I want to use it to produce a Flash site for myself. Since I am new to flash i was wondering if the following would work?

My idea is to save the interface design minus everything that can be reproduced with vectors in Flash as a PNG file. That way I can import the png into my library in Flash. The Png file would sort of act as a skin. All the content and movie files would be loaded in layers under the iterface layer and would be seen throught the transparent areas on the interface design.

the png is like 60 K out of Photoshop but is smaller when the swf is published. It wouldn't be animated.

maybe it would help to attach a jpeg of the design.

here it is
    Attached Images Attached Images

Nice layout you have there. Yea, I
    believe that would work. Whenever I make
    my sites, I do relatively the same thing:
    Create a layout graphic in PS, set it as the bottom
    layer, add vector stuff (like text) on top.

cheers,
    venio
    Flash Kit Moderator . Duke University
    Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology

thanks

just needed to know it could work.

On sort of a similar note...

is it ok to import bitmaps to use to make buttons.
    (jpgs or pngs most likely)

Id have one for over state and one for off state (maybe even one for down state???) sort of like in html. I know it works, I've done it but is there a reason I shouldn't be making my buttons this way?

I think it works fine and have never had an issue when using bmp's vs vector for the buttons. Unless I am totally wrong(and I could very well be), I don't think it matters much.