A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: Giving .fla files to clients for free???

Giving .fla files to clients for free???

I did some freelance flash work for a friend of mine who owns a design company. Now that the site is done and online, my friend's client wants to maintain and update the work herself. They demanded the source files of everything including the .fla files.

I'm just a freelancer and there is no contract of any kind...and I never want to give my source files without them paying. What shall I do? Apparantly my friend didnt explain to his client they were NOT paying for source files. Any advice on what I should do? His client may threaten to sue him for my files!

Pooh

unless it was stated, dont give them to them. They paid for the design, not the sources. What are they gonna do about it? There arent any contracts. If they want them make them pay extra.
    maybe.

Developer
    The Bluegrass State Will Flash For Food ™
    You were working for your friend... did your friend have a contract with the client?
    Last edited by gSOLO_01; 12-11-2003 at 10:19 AM.

Danny Gomez Creations ® cosmiceye's Avatar
    under a palmtree in Jamaica waiting for psytopia 2005 to begin
    If you could figure out a price for your sourcefiles, just tell them that thats what they cost. Or else they will have to sing a contract with you every time they need an update. Just explain that and it will all make sense to everyone.
    ..:: P S Y T O P I A 2 0 0 5 :::..
    . . . view the psytopia reels _____RIVEND REEL | GOMEZ REEL_____ . . . . . . . . . . .

send them a FLA from a completely random animation.
    maybe.

I have already drafted the price of each (.fla) source to the design house. I only made deal with the design house for the client project.

I heard he had a contract regarding the logo copyright matter. There has not been mentioned of any original source files (eg. .fla)!

Developer
    The Bluegrass State Will Flash For Food ™
    You "heard" ?