dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 29

Thread: oldnewbie I need your help again.

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    miami
    Posts
    540

    oldnewbie I need your help again.

    How are you?

    I have a picture website that loads pictures individualy on different levels. Each picture.swf is loaded on top of the previous one by

    on (release){
    loadMovieNum(name, i)
    i++
    }

    bacause I want the top picture to fade over the one under it. I'm using a scrollPane, and it's not fading. Any idea how I can achieve this effect. The scrollPane is a must, and I want to fade them as I said eariler.

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Can you attach your .fla or provide a link to download it from, either here in this thread or in a PM?
    It should be zipped up and in MX only format.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    miami
    Posts
    540
    sure hang on

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    miami
    Posts
    540
    OK here at the files


    couplesThumbs.swf is the thumbnails that scroll left and right and load the individual pictures, which are in pictures/couples/xyz.swf

    i is initialized in _level0 to 35. The only thumbnails that have actions are the first and last one out of those 4 that you'll see there.

    hope you understand my mess. Please ask me any questions you want.

    flas

    thanks again

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    miami
    Posts
    540
    here is a link to the whole thing so far. I uploaded it to a temp folder. Nothing has preloaders yet, so give it about 15 seconds and then refresh (depending on your connection) so that everything loads smoothly. After that, click on "make an appointment" which is a dummy button used to test what I'm doing. It should be OK from then on.

    good luck

    site

    Again please ask me any questions you want.

    thanks a lot

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Ok! Had a look! So, what your really want is the top picture wiping over the lower one, right?
    Why 35 or so levels as opposed to a few, just constantly switching from one to the other?

    And one other question...
    You do realize that those preloaders (the ones on the big pictures .swfs) ain't really preloading anything, right?

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    miami
    Posts
    540
    Well 35 is just an arbitrary number. I wanted to give my self some room, just in case I need something in a level below it. I plan to have about 50 pictures or more, which will load from level 35 on. And yes, one on top of the other. But I want to see the bottom one as the top one fades in. Is there a problem with this methodology?

    I didn't realize that the preloaders were not working. What's wrong with them?

    thanks again.

  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Let me think about this for a while...

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    miami
    Posts
    540
    sounds good

    by the way I picked 35 because I have other swfs in some levels underneath, but I have them spaced out every five levels. Again, to give myself some room.

  10. #10
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    After looking at it again ... It doesn't look good! Not possible, I believe! Not how you want to do it!

    You could probably fade out the lower level and wipe in the top one (like your presently doing), but that's about it. If you used a masking transition it could probably also work, but then you would have a clear-cut mask, and not a gradient one as you now have, unless it was possible to cheat it with another mask over the transition one. But I'd have to think about that also for another while...

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    miami
    Posts
    540
    hummmmmmmm. I'll think about it too and see what I come up with. Please let me know anything else that occurs to you. Thanks again.

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    miami
    Posts
    540
    also, did you find what was wrong with the preloaders? I've been fooled thinking that such a preloader worked.

  13. #13
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Well first off, in the .flas I got, there's no actual preloading code, just the loadbar script, and that doesn't preload anything.
    Second, your using a component and a linked (and exported on the first frame) content movie clip, which would of prevented your preloader from displaying correctly anyways.

    A generic (within the main movie) preloader should be used... Something along these lines, in concept at least...

    http://www.flashkit.com/board/showth...hreadid=456020
    Last edited by oldnewbie; 12-29-2003 at 12:56 AM.

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    miami
    Posts
    540
    OK took a look at your fla and it looks great. Got a question tho' you're loading felix1.swf onto a movie clip right? How would things change if I need to load it on a different level?

    By the way, will I need to add that code to every thumbnail in a movie or no?

    thanks for all your help

  15. #15
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    On all buttons...
    You would essentially need to change this line...
    code:

    _level0.containerMC.loadMovie("http://blake.prohosting.com/~tektips/flash/felix1.swf");


    To something like...
    code:

    loadMovieNum("http://blake.prohosting.com/~tektips/flash/felix1.swf", 5);


    5 being the level on which the movie should be loaded...

    And call the preloader, with this line...
    code:

    _level0.preloader.gotoAndStop(2);


    Then replace each _root.containerMC with _level5 (or you might want to use a variable holding the level being loaded rather then hard coding a particular level, so that this remains a generic preloader), in the preloader script...
    code:

    this.onEnterFrame=function(){
    //trace the percentage of the movie that has loaded
    percent=(_root.containerMC.getBytesLoaded()/_root.containerMC.getBytesTotal())*100;

    if(!isNan(percent)){
    // The following only concern the preloader's displays...
    if (percent == 0) {
    percent_display = "";
    } else {
    percent_display = Math.ceil(percent) + "% LOADED.";
    }
    this.loadbar._visible = true;
    this.loadbar._xscale = percent;
    if (percent > 1) {
    this.reelmc._visible = true;
    }
    // End of preloader's displays...
    _root.containerMC.stop();
    }
    if(percent == 100){
    // this sends this preloader clip back to frame 1
    // where it awaits the next call to it...
    this.gotoAndStop(1);
    // this deletes this onEnterFrame event...
    // so that the movie clip stops looping...
    delete this.onEnterFrame;
    // preloader's displays handling...
    this.reelmc._visible = false;
    percent_display = "";
    this.loadbar._visible = false;
    // end of preloader's displays handling...
    _root.containerMC.play();
    }
    }
    stop();



    Hope you get most of this... If not just ask! And keep me informed of how you would be sorting out your other transition problem...

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    miami
    Posts
    540
    alright, let me try and understand that...your explination seems very good.

    About the transition problem....I guess I'll try a mask at the root level, but like you said, it will be a hard mask and not a soft-faded like the one I want. If you want to see exactly what I want, open windows XP media player, and click on "media guide" on the left. See how the pictures at the top change? That's it exactly.

    Any ideas.

    I'll work on the other stuff now.

    thanks a million.

  17. #17
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    I'm not on XP!

  18. #18
    Senior Member flashPlaya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    >>WESTSIDE<<
    Posts
    235

    Hey Guys

    I was looking at your thread I and I saw this site:http://www.baxtered.com/

    they have a cool way that the new swf's kinda mask's over the old ones. Is this what you what you where talking about? I was also trying to build this.

    Thanks oldnewbie you are the man!!!!!!
    ////FLASHPLAYER//

    MY SITE>>

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    miami
    Posts
    540
    yeah the same concept but the challange is that I'm using the scrollPane, and I want the fade to be more subbtle

  20. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    miami
    Posts
    540
    oldnewbie if I want to change _level5 for a variable (since it will be chaning) is this correct

    this["_level"+_level0.i] _level0.i holds the current level

    thanks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center