dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 22

Thread: trouble with pixel fonts

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Symsonic Design Studios
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    169

    trouble with pixel fonts

    i am having a problem using pixel fonts... i am using harmony font from fontsforflash... i used it at size 8, and set the movie clips to integer values.. heres the swf swf (hit high speed and look on the welcome and prices pages)
    here is the fla...fla
    Last edited by acb460acb; 01-01-2004 at 03:19 AM.

  2. #2
    Senior Member pellepiano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    15,151
    The textfields has to be on integers too.
    I got page not found trying to download the fla.

    -Pelle Piano
    // Image Gallery
    www.studiobild.com
    // Photo Blog
    http://talesofthepixel.blogspot.com

  3. #3
    Symsonic Design Studios
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    169
    sorry.. i fixed the link now.. yea i have everything set to intergers i think

  4. #4
    Senior Member pellepiano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    15,151
    Your fla is over 8 megs????
    Its a little to much just for checking a textfield.
    Couldnt you just copy the movieclip to a new document?

    And I just realized that the font is not included in fla files so anypone checking has to have that font installed I guess.

    -Pelle Piano
    // Image Gallery
    www.studiobild.com
    // Photo Blog
    http://talesofthepixel.blogspot.com

  5. #5
    Symsonic Design Studios
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    169
    sure i will copy just the movie clip.. can you please tell me how to attatch the font?

  6. #6
    Senior Member pellepiano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    15,151
    I have no idea unfortunately.

    The font looked a little blurry on your page.. I guess that is what you want corrected. Did you check that the texfields are on integers too.

    Sometimes I have to have them on .5

    -Pelle Piano
    // Image Gallery
    www.studiobild.com
    // Photo Blog
    http://talesofthepixel.blogspot.com

  7. #7
    Symsonic Design Studios
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    169
    yea all my text fields, and the movie clips they are in are alined on both the x and y integer

  8. #8
    Senior Member pellepiano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    15,151
    Maybe there is something wrong with the font then.( or maybe its intended for another size than 8 ).

    What happens if you make a textfield o the stage ( no movieclip). Is it sharp then? Is it a dynamic or static textfield?

    -Pelle Piano
    // Image Gallery
    www.studiobild.com
    // Photo Blog
    http://talesofthepixel.blogspot.com

  9. #9
    Symsonic Design Studios
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    169
    hmmm it comes up perfect when its just on the stage

  10. #10
    Senior Member pellepiano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    15,151
    Maybe you have resized some movieclips. Then it wont work.

    -Pelle Piano
    // Image Gallery
    www.studiobild.com
    // Photo Blog
    http://talesofthepixel.blogspot.com

  11. #11
    Symsonic Design Studios
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    169
    yessssssssss one was set to 97% height ahhaah thankssssss soo much man

  12. #12
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Yeah! Your "content" clip is not scaled 100% across. Make sure the clip is selected and in the Transform panel, uncheck the Constrain box, and set the height at 100.0%. Re-check the Constrain box.
    The text should work fine.

    Also take that stop(); action (report as an error) on the content clip, not in it. I'm tired of taking it out myself.

  13. #13
    Symsonic Design Studios
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    169
    OK It went back to bein screwed up.. i found out exaclty why its happening... the 3 parameters that need to be even are

    1)Width & Height (pixel #'s)
    2)X & Y location
    3)Width & Height (percentage)

    no matter what i do i can't get all of them to be whole numbers, and still keep the percenages at 100%.. is there some secret?

  14. #14
    cartoonfox bacon man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    cardiff
    Posts
    634
    if you change the x and y and size in the movieclip to what you want. then the movieclip should be 100% and be ok.

  15. #15
    Symsonic Design Studios
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    169
    yea but when i change the movie clip height to 100% the y location goes to 242.9 than when i changeit to 243 the height goes to 99.8%
    Last edited by acb460acb; 01-01-2004 at 03:02 AM.

  16. #16
    cartoonfox bacon man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    cardiff
    Posts
    634
    hmmm...i'm confused.

    can i have a look at you .fla? i have FFF harmony font.

  17. #17
    Symsonic Design Studios
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    169
    its at the top of this thread

  18. #18
    cartoonfox bacon man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    cardiff
    Posts
    634
    ok, brb in a few minutes.

    though i wont be able to host it because my bandwidth limit is up.
    i'll explain what i did (if i fix it that is )

    i'll try my best.

  19. #19
    Symsonic Design Studios
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    169
    ok thanks do you have any instant messenger ican talk to you on? if so please pm me the address or s/n or w/e thanks alott

  20. #20
    cartoonfox bacon man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    cardiff
    Posts
    634
    hi, sorry, but i cant find where the text is.
    i found the actual movie clip that its in, but i cant find the movieclip where its being used. (your website is very strange in its layout...for me at least!)

    i do have AIM but you'd have to wait a few hours. its 7 am and i havent had any sleep yet!!


    gonna sleep for a bit then i'll try. sorry.

    good luck.

    see you in a few hours.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center