dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: I can't figure out how to use components. They won't work.

  1. #1
    banned by dp
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    245

    I can't figure out how to use components. They won't work.

    I create a movie clip, give it an instance name, and then drag the component over it.

    Then I test it. And nothing happens. Ever.

    What am I not doing right?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    42
    Could you describe your situation more? Components are driven by action script, not by drag-n-drop painting, you have to have scripting in order for them to do anything, as well as a instance name to refer to them. If you have them using a script that would be needed in order to diagnose the problem.
    I will own you, with ease, have a nice day.

  3. #3
    banned by dp
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    245
    I thought they were more drag and drop.

    I thought they were supposed to be simple to use. What actionscript do I need to make one work? Why can't I just target the clip, using the parameters box and be done with it.

    Thanks.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    2,849
    Depending on which component you use, you can make them work with drag and drop, which component are you using? Scrollpane?

  5. #5
    banned by dp
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    245
    No,it's one from flashcomponents.net or whatever.

    It is a basic package of components....with fade, zoom, move, follow, etc.

    None of them work.

    I suck.

    Thanks.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    2,849
    If you're using Flash MX, check in your "Reference" window. Sometimes components install info in there. If you're using MX 2004, do a search in the help window for the name of the component you're trying to use. It looks like components can install help material in there. Otherwise go back to the site and try to get in touch with the author and ask him how you're supposed to use the components.

    Most components should be able to be used through the component parameters panel, yes.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center