A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: [Resolved] [Resolved] MOVIE loading problem... PLEASE HELP...

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    20

    MOVIE loading problem... PLEASE HELP...

    Hi, thanks for your trying to help.

    I've been trying to load a small .swf file from a bigger main movie.
    i used...

    _root.blah.loadmovie("smallmovie.swf");

    but, when i test play it, publish it, export it or whatever, it only comes out with a couple objects from the "smallmovie.swf" I have tried playing around with the levels, but there was no luck.

    I have buttons embedded in a movie with the buttons laced with actionscript. But i don't understand how that has anything to do with just trying to load a movie...

    PLEASE SOMEONE HELP
    Last edited by flashstick; 02-03-2004 at 11:04 PM.

  2. #2
    FK's Giant Steve_w_V's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    San Jose, California
    Posts
    2,113
    Maybe that is all that is in the smallmovie...

    What you tell Flash to do, and the script you provided is correct, it will do.
    The other day, I bought a box of animal crackers. On the side, it said "Do Not Eat if Seal is Broken". I opened the box and sure enough...

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    20

    Thank you for the reply

    I am thinking so too, the thing is... the smallmovie plays correctly when tested and puplished... it just comes out all funky when it is loaded into the big movie.

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    What does "funky" mean in this context?

    Any links to both movies?

    Or maybe attach your .flas so we can better understand what's happenin'!

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    20

    Thank you for the reply

    haha, funky in this context would mean, everything i need to show is not showing haha... the button and movies are not visible.

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Well, attach your .flas man! Zipped up and in MX only format, in my case!

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    20

    haha thanks, ok here is the zipped file

    Thank you
    Attached Files Attached Files

  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    You have two choices!

    It's your references to _root in the "to be loaded" movie, that are f.... things up. You have many of them, and they should all be replaced with this or _parent depending. That's the first solution.

    The second and easiest is simply to load your movie on another level, rather than in a container clip. No script changes!

    Simply use...

    loadMovieNum("subinfo4beta.swf", 5);

    ...In your infoBETA.fla.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    20

    THANK YOU SO MUCH

    THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR HELPING ME!!! IT's works
    but there is there a way to position it in precise pixels?

  10. #10
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Yes, but in this case, it's more easily done in the "to be loaded" movie itself. Thus in the subinfo4beta.fla itself.
    Simply add the following on the first frame...

    this._x = 50; // Offset from top-left corner (0,0)
    this._y = 100; // Offset from top-left corner (0,0)

    You may have to play with those numbers to get it just fine and positioned as you want it, but you should get it to work easily.

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    20

    Thank you again

    I fianlly got it how id like, thank you again! I have been writhingin agony because i couldn't get this small thing working, but tonight i can sleep well. THanks to you! haha

    You are truly an expert

    thanks again

    props

  12. #12
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Have a good sleep! As I will right away!

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    44
    jeez oldnewbie . should change your sn to oldguru

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center