A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Simple Dreamweaver Question

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    27

    Simple Dreamweaver Question

    I'm trying to draw 2 single-celled tables and keep them on the same line. However, whenever I try to add a second table, dreamweaver automatically forces it below the first table. Is there a way I can keep two tables side by side?

  2. #2
    Senior Member Black_phoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    2,194
    Hi see the attatched for one way of doing it

    bp

  3. #3
    Senior Member Black_phoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    2,194
    or u can do this see attatched screenie, this basically lets you split a table that is already made

    should sort the problem for u

    bp

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    27
    No, I need to be able to put two tables next to each other. I know how to split a cell, but for reasons which are too long to explain here, I need a way to put two different tables next to each other. Please advise. I'm not sure if it's possilbe.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Black_phoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    2,194
    Hi the only way i know of doing it is nesting them

    eg create a table 2 wide x 1 height then place a new table in each, so its a table within a table....

    bp

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    18

    there really is no good reason to not nest them

    nesting is the way to go.

    if you have a reason to long to explain you may be over complicating. ofcourse maybe you do...i'd love to hear it.

    jt

  7. #7
    Retired Mod aversion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    insomnia
    Posts
    7,917
    it's not just dreamweaver that's doing this, a table is a structural element and as such will always be followed by a hard return.

    you might want to try messing with the 'inline' value of the tables in CSS, which I know you can use to make a list element not start a new line.

  8. #8
    Retired Mod aversion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    insomnia
    Posts
    7,917
    just had a quick play.

    this will display the tables side by side in N6/IE5+


    <html>
    <head>
    <title>inline tables</title>
    </head>

    <body>
    <table style="display:inline;" width="300"><tr><td>next to...</td></tr></table><table style="display:inline;" width="300"><tr><td>this one</td></tr></table>
    </body>
    </html>

  9. #9
    Huygens to Titan PCRIDE's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    PLUTO
    Posts
    1,335
    I think he means 2 tables next to each other, I do it all the time, when you add the table it makes it below.

    the fix, just make the left table align to the left and the other table align to the right
    that will make 2 seprate tables next to each other,

    I have used this when i have a navagation bar on the left thats in a table and the main site in a table next to it, for the main material on the site

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    18

    seems like a lot of thought but not a boat load of reason. but i could be wrong.

    please someone give me an example of why one would do this in the first place...i simply can't think of one.
    there are so many ways to make something appear as if it's in-line.

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Arlington, VA
    Posts
    53
    I do this everyday. Simply place the two tables into a larger table as mentioned above.

    Code:
    <table border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0">
      <tr>
        <td>
          <table border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0">
             <tr>
               <td>
    <! --CONTENT OF TABLE ONE -->
               </td>
             </tr>
          </table>
        </td>
        <td>
          <table border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0">
             <tr>
               <td>
    <! --CONTENT OF TABLE TWO -->
               </td>
             </tr>
          </table>
        </td>
      </tr>
    </table>
    Redemption

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    27

    Thanks guys

    worked like me lucky charms!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center