A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Opening new windows in Flash

  1. #1
    Look over there>>>>>>> rtbenson's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Metro Detroit
    Posts
    80

    Opening new windows in Flash

    Hello,

    I am using Flash MX (not 2004).

    I need to open a new window from flash that is 300px long, and 300px wide. I have tried using
    getURL("javascript:window.open(...)","_self")
    , but that gives me a page that says "object", and then it opens the window. See it in action at www.yeahitis.com/test.swf How can I make it so it does not open the "object" window?

    Thanks,
    Brendan Benson
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Visit http://www.flash-db.com/PopUp/ , and create the popup with the features you want or don't want. Generate the code, and then simply copy & paste the generated code on your Flash button.

    You'll notice a void(0); in there, that should solve your problem.

  3. #3
    Look over there>>>>>>> rtbenson's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Metro Detroit
    Posts
    80
    Thank you very much. That solved an annoying problem.

  4. #4
    Sergei A. Kornev Maestro_cK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Saint Petersburg
    Posts
    155
    Use this:
    getURL ("javascript:wnd=window.open(\"MyPage.html\",\"MyP age\",'width=300,height=300,scrollbars=no,resizabl e=no');wnd.focus();void(0);");

    Note: Don't forget to test movie(swf) outside Flash. Also create and place the same folder page "MyPage.html".

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    A little late there Maestro!
    And you should visit that link of mine, would spare you from escaping... (\"MyPage.html\",\"MyPage\"...

  6. #6
    Sergei A. Kornev Maestro_cK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Saint Petersburg
    Posts
    155
    A little late there Maestro
    Life goes too fast.

    And you should visit that link of mine, would spare you from escaping... (\"MyPage.html\",\"MyPage\"...
    Do You mean replace \"MyPage.html\" with 'MyPage.html'? I have known it. Sometimes I like to use \" instead of '.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center