Display info from database
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Display info from database

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    6

    Display info from database

    Does anyone know how to display data from an ASP in Koolmoves? I'm trying to display data that I retrieve from an asp in KoolMoves without any success.

    Thanks.
    SureSpec, Inc.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    3,234
    Look in the help index (koolmoves.chm) under backend code

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    6
    I viewed the help and found a few helpful things but I still can't get the data I retrieve from my ASP to display in my dynamic textbox.
    This is what my code looks like:

    LoadVariables ("sstest.asp",0);
    txt1 = var1;

    var1 is my simple data from my asp and txt1 is my dynamic text box in Koolmoves. I've tried the LoadVariables using Get and Post with the same results. No data in my dynamic text box. When my movie runs sometimes I get my asp opening up in a seperate IE window. ?? I know it's something silly that I'm doing wrong. I just can't figure out what it is.

    Thank you for your help.
    SureSpec, Inc.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,628
    Did you export your movie as a flash 5 or flash 6 movie ?

    If you did export as a flash 6 movie try txt1.text = var1;

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    6
    When I use txt1.text = Var1; I receive an error message that states that line 2 is expecting an assignment.

    Here's a copy of the line of code I'm using in my ASP to send the data to my KoolMoves movie:

    Response.Write Server.URLEncode("Var1=" & rsUserDocs.Fields("DOC_DESC"))

    Here is what the data looks like when I just run my ASP from IE:
    Var%3DNote

    Thanks.
    SureSpec, Inc.

  6. #6
    undead creature necromanthus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    ROM
    Posts
    1,876
    Hi Eric,
    Try in this way:
    1) rename the dynamic-text box as var1
    2) use these lines of script (for the main timeline):
    _root.loadVariables("sstest.asp");
    stop();

    3) export as Flash 6 but don't forget to set the "backward compatibility"

    That's all.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    6
    Still no luck. Is there a way for me to see if the data is even getting to my movie from my ASP? Like a msgbox or something?

    Thanks.
    SureSpec, Inc.

  8. #8
    undead creature necromanthus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    ROM
    Posts
    1,876
    Originally posted by eric7727
    Still no luck. Is there a way for me to see if the data is even getting to my movie from my ASP? Like a msgbox or something?
    It works fine for me.
    I'm sure that your "personal ASP server" is not working.
    Try to launch some simple ASP files in your browser and see the results.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    6
    When I launch my ASP I get Var1%3DNote in my IE window. "Note" is the value that is returned from my ASP page. That is what I should see in my dynamic_text box. I don't receive any errors or anything. Just an empty dynamic_text box. ??
    SureSpec, Inc.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    6
    I made some changes to my ASP and WAM! The code that Necromanthus sent worked perfectly. I want to thank Necromanthus, w.Brants, and Bob Hartzell for all of your help.
    SureSpec, Inc.

  11. #11
    undead creature necromanthus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    ROM
    Posts
    1,876
    Originally posted by eric7727
    I made some changes to my ASP and WAM! The code that Necromanthus sent worked perfectly. I want to thank Necromanthus, w.Brants, and Bob Hartzell for all of your help.
    This is the guy that we're looking for ...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width


HTML5 Development Center

Poll by Flashkit.com