dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Communicating between dynamic text boxes

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    16

    Communicating between dynamic text boxes

    I have dynamic text fields that are filled in when various buttons are depressed. This all takes place on the root movie. I then need the information in the dynamic text fields to pass along to another set of dynamic fields on a movie loaded on level 3. is this possible?

    For example:

    root movie (level0) has:
    dynamic_textboxA
    dynamic_textboxB
    dynamic_textboxC

    a button on the root movie loads a miovie onto level 3. loaded movie (level3) has:
    dynamic_textboxA2
    dynamic_textboxB2
    dynamic_textboxC2

    I need the information from A1, to pass to A2
    B1, to pass to B2; and C1 to C2.

    Thanks in advance.


    MIke

  2. #2
    Senior Member chi-styler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    1,237
    you could put
    code:

    dynamic_textboxA2.text = _root.dynamic_textboxA.text;
    etc..



    on frame one of the movie you're loading in. when you use _root in a loaded movie, it'll refer the base of the movie that doing the loading, where your original text boxes are in this case.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    16
    i have tried this and it doesnt seem to work.

    I have attached a test i was trying.

    open the tgestroot.swf file and try it

    The two sample buttons fill in the dynamic field with either "AAAAAA" or "BBBBB"

    The user then clicks the load movie button, which loads "form.swf" on level3. The feld on level thjree needs to have the information from the root level automatically filled, either "AAAAAA" or "BBBBB", whichever is in the text field on the root at the time the user clicks load movie.

    Thanks again

    mike
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4. #4
    Senior Member chi-styler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    1,237
    if you put

    model_send = _level0.model;

    in frame 1 of the form movie it works. someone wiser than me can tell you why that works and _root.model doesn't!


    [edit] actually, _root.model does work if you load the movie, re-assign the base text field, then try it. perhaps someone much wiser than me can explain that
    Last edited by chi-styler; 03-29-2004 at 04:28 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center