dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: dynamic rotation

dynamic rotation

Im researching 3d for flash and I have found that Swift 3d appears to be the most desired solution for flash. I suspect there may be others, but I am more interested in a particular capability for any solution that might present itself. I currently work with a 3d cad software called Solid Works and I have some limited experience with 3ds max. My question is this, if having generated a 3d object and importing it into flash can you then dynamically rotate the object?

yes you can. just render an animation of the object rotating 360 degrees. then export the animation and import it into flash. you can then gotoAndStop() a frame from the animation depending on the position of the mouse. this should simulate dragging the object around it's axis.
    Graphics Attract, Motion Engages, Gameplay Addicts
    XP Pro | P4 2.8Ghz | 2Gb | 80Gb,40Gb | 128Mb DDR ATI Radeon 9800 Pro

free-webmaster-resource.com deamothul's Avatar

thanks guys,

I have done something like that already and basically your limited to a rotation of one axis only.

Well, it's really difficult because Flash can't handle 3D objects, every possible angle you want to use has to be rendered in a seperate frame. For a simple one-dimensional animation, you could do a very choppy animation with 10 frames (every 36 degrees). To be able to rotate the object along two axis, you're looking at 100 frames, and that'll still be really choppy. You're looking at thousands of frames to do it properly. Hardest part will definitely be capturing all the separate frames. And then you've got the issue of navigating through--basically, you'd need a 2-dimensional matrix with an x-rotation value and a y rotation value.