dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: UNSOLVABLE Preloader problem for large *.swf files

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Azasst
    Posts
    4

    UNSOLVABLE Preloader problem for large *.swf files

    XXX.SWI

    contains the following scenes:

    >PRELOADER

    contains a "BLABLA" text with PLACE at frame 0
    (or a looping sprite or anything)

    AT FRAME 0
    IF FRAME -1(thus LAST FRAME) OF SCENE2 IS LOADED
    GOTO FRAME 0 OF INTER

    AT FRAME 1
    GOTO FRAME 0 OF PRELOADER


    >INTER
    AT FRAME 0 STOP

    (because at frame 0 a button appears then u click and go to scene 1 and the movie plays...)

    >SCENE1
    >SCENE2



    now the big question that has absolutely NO ANSWER ANYWHERE ON THIS SITE:
    everything works as planned except....
    how can i see my "BLABLA" text from the VERY BEGINNIG OF THE SWF? From frame O! It loads when the total of aprox.300KB reach 70%. And then there is no more point to the preloader .... Is there anything wrong with the EXPORT TAB or maybe the IF/THEN conditions? I have no idea....

  2. #2
    Chief of Molecules wcoleman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    3,975
    Post the swi so someone can look at it.

    Cheers,

    Flick

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Azasst
    Posts
    4
    That is the whole *.swi.
    What do you wanna see?
    The actual content or the important part with the actions&stuff(see above)?
    Isn't it easier to create one yourself with the actions above than for me uploading a large swi?

    The SCENE 1 and 2 are not important.

    I just dont want people to miss the first frames of the movie; i dont expect them to stare for 2 minutes at my preloader, so they might be still surfin while the movie starts.
    Get my problem?

  4. #4
    Senior Member Dead Rabbit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Back in Tampa FLA again - and happy!
    Posts
    2,403
    Take a look at The Secrets of Preloaders. If you still need help - post the .swi here. Trust me, it's much easier to troubleshoot if we can see everything that's going on...
    While changing my profile, I accidentally clicked the link that said
    "Add 'Dead Rabbit' to your Ignore List"
    so now I can't talk to myself anymore...

    The Repository -:- The Forum

  5. #5
    Senior Member Lys12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    5,237
    move the
    IF FRAME -1(thus LAST FRAME) OF SCENE2 IS LOADED
    from frame 0 to frame 1 and see if it works (after clearing your browser cache).

    and if Flick asks you to post the swi, he'll have his reasons - as DR said, it's easier to see what's going on. BLABLAs and looping anythings in descriptions don't make things easier you know.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Azasst
    Posts
    4
    This is the SWi, but i took out the IMAGES/MP3s in it because the file was way big!
    If anyone can fix it or maybe has another ideea about the type of action similar to mine, pls help, because i feel like a

    My whole site is finished and i stumbled upon this "little" obstacle.

    Thnk u a million times.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  7. #7
    Senior Member Lys12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    5,237
    move the "gotoframe 0" action in the preloader from frame 1 to frame 2, and then move the "if frame loaded" action from frame 0 to 1. delete the two place actions for the sprite and the text, then it should work.

    i've uploaded it... see if it plays correctly.

    http://www.msnrd.de/intro.html

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Azasst
    Posts
    4
    Sorry to disappoint you but your example is same as mine!
    It loads a lot before showing the first frames. About 50%

    Tested in different browsers with flash 7. So it's not a browser thing.

    The only way i could see the first frames is if i place at frame 0 the STOP action (and at frame 1 the IF..LOADED.. wich btw still preloads the whole movie).But that's no use to me because then the movie cannot advance to further frames....

    Any other ideas would be very welcomed...

  9. #9
    Senior Member Dead Rabbit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Back in Tampa FLA again - and happy!
    Posts
    2,403
    The problem is that the sprite is not given enough time to play before it is restarted. Each time you send the playhead back to the beginning of the scene, the sprite plays frome Frame 0 of its timeline.

    2 possible solutions:
    Option 1: Move the Goto Frame 0 of Preloader action from frame 1 to frame 24. Since the sprite is 25 frames long, it will play all the way through. The Place actions for the sprite and the text are unnecessary.

    Note that although the sprite will play, the preloader will only check to see if the movie is loaded every 2 seconds.

    Option 2: Cut and Paste the contents of the sprite directly into the preloader scene. Move the loop action to the end of the animation (Frame 25), and use multiple If Frame Loaded actions.

    In the example attached, I used Option 2 and added a small sound to show that it all works. Click here to see the .swf in action.

    Let us know if you need any more help.

    Happy Swishing!

    - DR
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by Dead Rabbit; 04-09-2004 at 10:16 AM.
    While changing my profile, I accidentally clicked the link that said
    "Add 'Dead Rabbit' to your Ignore List"
    so now I can't talk to myself anymore...

    The Repository -:- The Forum

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center