A Flash Developer Resource Site

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 55

Thread: preloader help

  1. #1
    Flashkit Veteran joejoe2288's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Hickville, Oregon
    Posts
    2,554

    preloader help

    hey i am making this simple music player and i was wondering if there was a way to make a load bar that works for all of the songs. the songs are all linked in external swf's so they load one at a time depending on which one oyu click and i was wondering if there was a way to get them all to use the same prelaoder to show progress, and if there is please show me to a tutorial that doewsn't have too much action scripting because i am a noob at flash and if there are cool premade ones any where that would be great as well, help is appreciated.
    JE
    So tired of all the fighting....

    http://joejoe2288.kawanda.net

  2. #2
    Senior Member Roxannej77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Rio Rico, AZ
    Posts
    115
    I am a noob too, but it seems to me like you could put the Load movie command for each of your swf's before the last frame that is preloaded in your preloader.
    Roxanne
    King's Court Productions
    Swish2 2003.05.20

  3. #3
    Flashkit Veteran joejoe2288's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Hickville, Oregon
    Posts
    2,554
    yes i was planning on doing that but the problem is that i DON'T have a preloader to do that with so willl somone that has a cool preloader or know how to make one direct me with action scripting and/or tutorial for this that is simple that i can use the same preloader for multiple movies
    thanx for the try roxy
    Thankx to the new people who help
    Joe
    So tired of all the fighting....

    http://joejoe2288.kawanda.net

  4. #4
    Flashkit Veteran joejoe2288's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Hickville, Oregon
    Posts
    2,554
    anyone else want to take a stab at it?????????????????????????
    So tired of all the fighting....

    http://joejoe2288.kawanda.net

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    149
    :raw butcher knife and stabs at IT::

    http://www.flashkit.com/search.php?t...ge=1&x=29&y=14

  6. #6
    the friendly canadian DaVulf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,017
    You know, flashkit isn't only a pretty face.

    There is also a pretty comprehensive tutorial base. Give it a look for those types of things. If you can't type 'preloader' in the search box yourself.. Why should we be even offering you help? You gotta make an effort on your own, and we'll help you the rest of the way.

    Thanks,
    DavuLf

  7. #7
    Flashkit Veteran joejoe2288's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Hickville, Oregon
    Posts
    2,554
    i did search in the tutorials and i did search for preloader in teh forum search, but the search wasn't workin and the tutorials wasn't what i was lookin for so instead of spoamming me with useless ridicules could you please help me?
    So tired of all the fighting....

    http://joejoe2288.kawanda.net

  8. #8
    Senior Member Adam14's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    1,116

  9. #9
    Flashkit Veteran joejoe2288's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Hickville, Oregon
    Posts
    2,554
    ya that might work tahnx fopr the tip but it might not, will it work wiht multiple external swf music files, and will the same preloader work for all them? Please answer your help is greatly appreciated
    So tired of all the fighting....

    http://joejoe2288.kawanda.net

  10. #10
    Senior Member Adam14's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    1,116
    It will certainly work for several swfs, you just need to change the script on each button tahtis used to load the swfs, for example, on your "about" button you'd have this:
    code:

    on (release) {
    if (_level0.current_selection == "about") {
    stop();
    } else {
    _level0.containerMC.loadMovie("about.swf");
    _level0.preloader.gotoAndStop(2);
    _level0.current_selection = "about";
    }
    }



    and on your home button you'd have this:

    code:

    on (release) {
    if (_level0.current_selection == "home") {
    stop();
    } else {
    _level0.containerMC.loadMovie("home.swf");
    _level0.preloader.gotoAndStop(2);
    _level0.current_selection = "home";
    }
    }



    you see it's quite simple, but don't thank me for the tip, it was oldnewbie that came up with this preloader, I just pasted his code here

    Adam

  11. #11
    Flashkit Veteran joejoe2288's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Hickville, Oregon
    Posts
    2,554
    well thanks for patching the code man but it still won't work for me i changed everything, i think it might have to do with all the levels in my movie i am going to attach it and let you look at it to see if you can figure out the problem, also i wanted to change the line
    _level0.containerMC.loadMovie("whatever.swf");
    to
    _level0.containerMC.loader.loadMovie("whatever.swf ");
    so that i could get an equalizer to work that i have, just to let you know the name of my song is 01 Dumpweed as you will probably notice, i really can't figure out whats going wrong, if you could help that would be so awesome, if you want to contact me on AIM it is joejoe2288med, please take a peek at tell me whats going wrong and how i can fix it. BTW i made some changes to the original post because i am making this a slider as well as all this other stuff so if that effects it please tell me, Adam14 if you could please help some more that would be awesome, and if anyone else dl's my file and can tell me what is wrong please do.

    ****, i can't attach the file cuz it is too big, omg this is annoying, Adam14 do you have AIM or something i will try it cuz the FTP for my site aint working, i will post if i get it up, thanks i will try you in a bit
    So tired of all the fighting....

    http://joejoe2288.kawanda.net

  12. #12
    Senior Member Adam14's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    1,116
    Probably a stupid question, but you did change "whatever.swf" to the swf file name you were trying to open?

    Adam

  13. #13
    Flashkit Veteran joejoe2288's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Hickville, Oregon
    Posts
    2,554
    yea, so can you get on AIM or something or give me your email through a PM so i can Mail you the file so you can take a look at my stupidity?
    So tired of all the fighting....

    http://joejoe2288.kawanda.net

  14. #14
    Flashkit Veteran joejoe2288's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Hickville, Oregon
    Posts
    2,554
    duh, i am such a dumb ass, i didn't zip the .fla so i will attach it now.
    So tired of all the fighting....

    http://joejoe2288.kawanda.net

  15. #15
    Senior Member Adam14's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    1,116
    Ok, the leafs are on in 10 minutes and it's PLAYOFFS!!!!! so i had a quick look, you don't have a movie clip on your stage called containerMC, or another movie clip in that one named loader? Or did I just not see them?

    you're trying to load into a clip named loader that is within a clip named containerMC, yet they aren't there?

    Adam

  16. #16
    Flashkit Veteran joejoe2288's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Hickville, Oregon
    Posts
    2,554
    doh, i have a "loadbar" but it is only one pixel wide, what part of my movie am i supposed to make have the name "containerMC" tell me the layer or object i beg of you,
    BTW when i rename the whole loadbar clip to "containerMC" the slider stops working, damn please don't go watch the gaem yet
    So tired of all the fighting....

    http://joejoe2288.kawanda.net

  17. #17
    Senior Member Adam14's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    1,116
    lol...apparently you don't know many Canadians...miss a hockey playoff game...lol..not gonna happen...it's intermission...what you need to do is make a new movie clip, leave the frames empty..and then drag it from your library onto the stage and give it the instance name containerMC, change your code to, for instance on your dumpweed button:

    code:

    on (release) {
    if (_root.current_selection == "01 Dumpweed") {
    stop();
    } else {
    _root.containerMC.loadMovie("01 Dumpweed.swf");
    _level0.preloader.gotoAndStop(15);
    _level0.current_selection = "01 Dumpweed";
    }
    }



    that loads the swf into containerMC. The preloader, only checks - as it's setup now - to make sure that containerMC has its content loaded fully....I will be back on after the game...the Leafs are up 2-0, in case you care

    Adam

  18. #18
    Flashkit Veteran joejoe2288's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Hickville, Oregon
    Posts
    2,554
    i dont' know why the hell it is doing this but whenever i name a movie clip "containerMC" in ****s up the slider and it goes up right after it comes down. could you please tell me how to fix that and you said you can't see the loading bar? how do i make it so that you can see the loading progress?
    So tired of all the fighting....

    http://joejoe2288.kawanda.net

  19. #19
    Senior Member Adam14's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    1,116
    ok, JoeJoe...I'm back and my team won!!!...let's get this working for ya!!!

  20. #20
    Senior Member Adam14's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    1,116
    Ok, having checked more..now that I'm back...you have a couple different preloaders goin'.....so, let's get this straightened out....you have how many files loaded in?...and waht are their names?...I'll see if I can just fix it up for you and send it back...but I need to know the name of your swfs that are loaded in.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center