dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: blurry fonts

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    117

    blurry fonts

    i am using fff harmony, 8 pt downloaded from fontsforflash.com... i put the text as movie clip and the text looks so blur.. the text positions are without commas
    anybody has idea how to fix this?
    my msn : meilind4@hotmail.com

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    35
    In general the following rules should be obeyed:-
    1) The text field must be on exact x and y coordinates
    2) There should be no transform applied to the text field
    3) If the text field is within a movie this movie must be on exact x and y coordinates when put onto the stage.
    4) Must set property of text field - tick include all characters
    5) Must set movie publish parameters to 100%

    Hope this helps.
    Regards,
    Pete

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    11

    anti-aliasing

    it can also depend on the size of the font, serif fonts (times new roman as compared to san sarif fonts, arial) appear very blurry if small.

    Another trick I have learned is to change the properties of the text field from static to dynamic. Even if it isn't truly dynamic, saying it is removes any anti-aliasing (a kind of 'auto-blur' performed to make the text appear smooth).

    The only drawback to that is that you must manually break lines (enter key). When published unbroken lines will go off the side of the page if long enough even if the text box in flash is sized correctly.
    ---------------------------
    Roger Kovacs
    Webmaster / Developer
    www.Higher-Designs.com

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    117
    thanks guys for the help.. problem solved..
    my msn : meilind4@hotmail.com

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    177
    if you put your movie at 100% your fonts will look blury you cant set it that way and set your fonts to be dynamic make sure that your (ab)is click down as well.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    117
    this question came up to my mind.. although there are solutions about blurry fonts why doesnt macromedia fix about this problem? is this unavoidable?
    my msn : meilind4@hotmail.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center