A Flash Developer Resource Site

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: my website effort

my website effort

i'm a graphic design student this is my first attempt at a flash site just wondered what people thought any suggestions or help would much appreciated. I still have some more work to put on but you can probably get the jist www.stephenwake.com

Looks good to me.

I suggest making your number buttons have a larger "hit area".. instead of just the numbers themselves - draw a box around them. (and on your daddy-ears button also).

thanks
    ill try that not sure if i need a loader yet did it come up ok? i also havnt tried it on a pc it was made on mac if that makes a difference?

Hey Stephen

I loved your design, very creative! Colours were great too. Definately increase the hit area of your numbers though.

Just one other comment, with regards to navigation - I would suggest you get some non-"technoheads" to review your site for you. Find a friend or two who wouldn't know flash from a peanut butter sandwich and see if they can find their way around.

If you're intending your site to simply advertise your (considerable!) talent to prospective clients, you need to make sure they can use it easily and if they knew a lot about design/sites, they wouldn't need you! Although your nav is very cool, I'm not sure how well it will 'translate' to people who don't speak the language.

Just a thought! Keep up the great work.

UP the frame rate to about 30 fps smooth it out a little seems like it lags. Thats my only suggestion

boo yaa
    "Shhhhh I have insomnia and Im trying to sleep it off."

i'll try the frame rate adjusment with regards to the design of it it is about the work being more important hopefully that comes across. i could try the buttons standing out more if people have a problem finding their way round.

thanks for the comments