dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Decreasing load time

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    273

    Decreasing load time

    I have a menu on my website that is aprox 1 MB in size, and I don't want the viewer to have to wait that long for the menu to load. If I make some parts of the menu into seperate SWF files, will they be included in the file size the orignal SWF preloader uses? Also, what if I called the imported SWF before it was completely downloaded? And could I build a sepereate preloader for each seperate SWF and have work the same way?

    Also, are there any general tips I could use to optomize loading time and file size?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Auburn, WA
    Posts
    69
    your menu is 1mb?!? (just verifying)

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    273
    To be exact, 909 KB.

  4. #4
    Senile member! :)
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Saunaswamp (transl)
    Posts
    2,296
    That is one large menu!

    What do you have in it? PNG sequences? Videos? Music? High quality sounds?

    Hard to give any recomendations whitout knowing what you got...

    /Mirandir

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    273
    Small .avi files. 10 of them to be exact, but none of this really has to do with my original question.

  6. #6
    Senile member! :)
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Saunaswamp (transl)
    Posts
    2,296
    If I make some parts of the menu into seperate SWF files, will they be included in the file size the orignal SWF preloader uses?
    No. They need to use their own preloader.

    what if I called the imported SWF before it was completely downloaded?
    It will play as long as the playhead won't reach a frame that isn't loaded yet. If it does it will stop there.

    Also, are there any general tips I could use to optomize loading time and file size?
    * Don't use video?

    * Use a 3rd party app that has better videocompression like sorens squeeze.

    * Turn down the quality of the videos.

    * Put them in swf's and load them when needed.

    /Mirandir

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    273
    I put the files into seperate SWF's and embed them into my project with keyframes, but they are still included in the loading time. I assume I have to load them with actionscript? How would I load and place an swf where I need it to be?

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    273
    Originally posted by DelvarWorld
    I put the files into seperate SWF's and embed them into my project with keyframes, but they are still included in the loading time. I assume I have to load them with actionscript? How would I load and place an swf where I need it to be?

  9. #9
    Senile member! :)
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Saunaswamp (transl)
    Posts
    2,296
    By loading the swf into a movieclip you can use that movieclip to set where on the stage it will appear:

    http://www.kirupa.com/developer/mx/loading.htm

    /Mirandir

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center