dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: JavaScript drop-down menus and Flash

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    45

    JavaScript drop-down menus and Flash

    We are building a site which is fundamentally HTML, but the client wants a Flash movie at the top of the page (under the menus). The problem is that the menus need to have drop-downs (JavaScript generated using Dreamweaver MX 2004), but the Flash movie is always infront of them.

    Has anyone come accross a fix for this?

    Cheers.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    13
    there is an easy fix insert this line of code after this

    codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=6,0,29,0" width="440" height="357">

    Insert this line

    <param name="WMode" value="transparent">

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Woodbury Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    371
    if that works, wow. Thats sweet, i ran into the same problem, but ended up creating the dropdowns in flash as well.
    Last edited by sharey; 06-13-2004 at 10:57 PM.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    45
    Yes this works on I.E & Netscape 7 on PC. It also seems to work on Safari on Mac. I haven't tested it on I.E on Mac yet.

    You may also need to put this:

    wmode="transparent"

    in the <embed> tag.

    Skankin.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    48
    Does not work Netscape 6 and Firefox

    TM
    Peace be the journey and Beyond

  6. #6
    Senior Member rjbeals's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    SC, USA
    Posts
    169
    I dont think transparent movies work in the opera browser?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center