dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Help for drop downs

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    4

    Help for drop downs

    Hi! Hoping someone can give me a quick tip...

    I am designing several drop downs from a main menu... all the menus are in a movie clip called "menus" and in that movie clip, each drop down resides as its own movie clip in a seperate frame with a stop action. Everything is going smoothly... HOWEVER, when I publish, the roll-over effects and links do not work for each submenu. But the submenu movie DOES play... so I am a little confused as to what I could be doing wrong...

    Any help will be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

    Vicky

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    94
    post your file and i will have a look i am not promising anything though

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    4
    Thanks for taking a look! Here's a scaled down version with just one of the drop-downs...

    Basically, the "Solutions" menu is a movie clip (Sol_menu) that resides in the "menus" movie clip (all other menus will also reside in here). Each item on the Solutions menu is a button with the roll-over effect of turning orange... that is the part that does not seem to be working...

    Looking forward to any help you can give me! I am more of a Flash user for presentations and video... so this is my first crack at web-programming :-)

    Thanks again!
    Vicky
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    94
    i can't seem to open your file maybe your running a different version to me i have mx2004.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    4
    That's weird... I am also using 2004...

    I posted the swf file... would that help? I tried opening the FLA file on another PC with just MX, and could not... I'm not sure what's going wrong there...

    But perhaps you can give me advice based on the swf?

    Sorry about all the trouble...
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    94
    Right then i have had a look and i think that your problem may be and i am not to sure how you have its set up but, ..

    If,... you have an invisible button so that when the user is rolled over the 'dropped down sub menu options' these stay visable.
    The invis button may be on a higher layer than the buttons so there rollover is not working.

    give it a whirl

    OF COURSE I MAY BE WRONG!!

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    4
    I do have an invisible layer... it is on the bottom. I created this streaming video since you cannot open my fla file... hope this can help us out :-)

    Thanks again for all your help!

    Screen Shot Video Describing problem

  8. #8
    Noob with alot of questions
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    226
    not sure how to fix, but this deserves a bump for taking time to make a video for the problem
    --Dont blame me if iam wrong....

    www.hattrickproductions.tk
    Not much there, but need 30 hits every 90 days for it to stay free for me.

  9. #9
    Noob with alot of questions
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    226
    common anyone?
    --Dont blame me if iam wrong....

    www.hattrickproductions.tk
    Not much there, but need 30 hits every 90 days for it to stay free for me.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center