A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Load and unload from menu help!

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    18

    Load and unload from menu help!

    I have a drop down menu system with 5 different buttons - I need each button to load a different swf file into a movie clip on the stage - at the moment the code for the buttons reads

    on (release) {
    loadMovie("yourfile.swf",_root.oneClip);
    }

    how do I program it so that when I movie has loaded and the user chooses another button, it unloads the previous movie and replaces it with a new one?

    Please help!

  2. #2
    Senior Member pellepiano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    15,151
    A new movie will automatically replace the previous one, if you load it into the same clip.

    -Pelle Piano
    // Image Gallery
    www.studiobild.com
    // Photo Blog
    http://talesofthepixel.blogspot.com

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    18
    thanks for the info - I'm a beginner!

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    52
    i got bit of the same problem: my menu loads swfs too but mostly it has buttons to other frames.
    After i load a swf and then try to load frames they're all overridden by the swf.
    Do i have to give all these buttons an unload function? or is there a better way?

  5. #5
    Senior Member pellepiano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    15,151
    Your description is rather confusing.

    Do you mean that the external swf is making the buttons not work?

    What do you mean by....
    try to load frames
    Do you mean frames in the timeline ( you can not load frames ) ????Or html frames or?

    -Pelle Piano
    // Image Gallery
    www.studiobild.com
    // Photo Blog
    http://talesofthepixel.blogspot.com

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    52

    i hope one day it'll all makes sense to me

    sorry about that.

    i mean my menu has a few buttons some loading swfs and some that gotoAndPlay another frame number on the timeline.
    Whenever i load a swf and then press a gotoAndPlay button to another frame, all you see is the swf.
    I was wondering if i had to give all these gotoAndPlay buttons some unload swf action in case one of these swfs have been loaded.

    actually in the other post u mentioned i got some paths issues. so it probably has to do with that too.

    thanks

  7. #7
    Senior Member pellepiano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    15,151
    Maybe you canload the external swf into a movieclip that is placed in a lower layer, so the buttons are on top of it, otherwise unload it if it has no purpose later on in the timeline ( where the buttons take you ).

    -Pelle Piano
    // Image Gallery
    www.studiobild.com
    // Photo Blog
    http://talesofthepixel.blogspot.com

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    52
    all sorted...
    makes so much more to me sense now

    hey thanks again.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center