dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Exe to SWF

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    192

    Exe to SWF

    Hey guys,
    Is it possible to convert a .exe file to an swf?
    I need to do it for one of my files but am unsure as how to do it. Thank you for any insight that you can provide.
    Don

  2. #2
    Tim (Super Moderator) Northcode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Whitehorse YT
    Posts
    3,766
    Check out my FREE exe2swf utility at http://www.northcode.com/resources/utilities.html

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Santa Cruz
    Posts
    2
    I have a bunch of files where I need to remove the full screen command and override the stops at various frames in the movie. For three files, I only have the exe files, not the source file. I used Northcode's exe2swf utility (thank you!) to extract the swf from two exe files successfully, and then was able to use loadMovie to target the swf and override the fullscreen and stop commands. On the third file, I used the exe2swf utility but the resulting file was a "compressed Flash MX swf file," where the other two were uncompressed. I can't get this swf to play, and so my fix doesn't work. So, two questions 1. Is there a way to uncompress the swf file? or 2. is there a way using FScommand or some other scripting solution or 3rd party software to override the fullscreen command and get the exe version to play without stops?

  4. #4
    Tim (Super Moderator) Northcode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Whitehorse YT
    Posts
    3,766
    Are you using the Flash 5 player to play the extracted SWF files? That's the only reason I can think of where you couldn't play the SWF. It *IS* possible to uncompress SWF files - check out http://www.kinesissoftware.com/products.html

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Santa Cruz
    Posts
    2
    The exe file was created in MX 2004. Will exe2swf work for that? Not sure why it would only run in Flash player 5. Couldn't figure out how to use the Kinesis product to uncompress the swf. I may be in over my head...

  6. #6
    Tim (Super Moderator) Northcode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Whitehorse YT
    Posts
    3,766
    Yep, exe2swf will work on EXE files created with any version of Flash.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center