A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: problems with loadclip

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    14

    problems with loadclip

    im having problems telling movieclip to start after they are loaded...
    im doing this

    createEmptyMovieClip("nav", 0);
    mcl.loadClip("navi.swf", nav);

    i have this code in the listener section....

    mclListener.onLoadComplete = function(mclname)
    {
    trace("finished");
    nav.gotoAndStop(2);
    }

    a trace and the command to tell the loaded movie to goto its second frame. the trace is coming back in my output window but the movie clip i loaded is not going to the second frame like it is supposed to...

    the navi.swf is a movie with a blank 1st frame with a stop action and a navigator bar clip on the second frame.

    ive tried everthing....please help....it tried _parent.gotoAndStop(2);,_level0.nav.gotoAndStop(2) ;, _root.gotoAndStop(2);, i tried placing it outside the listner function. for some reason i can't tell the newly loaded clip to play no matter what?
    Last edited by bdog01; 07-17-2004 at 02:24 AM.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    384
    code:

    _root.createEmptyMovieClip("nav", 0);
    nav.loadMovie("navi.swf");



    There isn't a loadClip function.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    14
    yes there is a .load clip fonction in flash MX 2004...

    if think i figured out my own problem but its just a guess...

    basically i added a setinterval to call a function to see if the movie is loaded AND make sure that its current frame is 1...strangely enough there seems to be a point when the movie is loaded but is not completely loaded...that is the bytes are all there but you cant actually manipulate it or give it gotoAndPlay/Stop commands...adding the (if currentFrame == 1) amde sure that it was not only loaded in bytes but also loaded into the other swf and could be fully manipulated...i noticed this because i set a pause right before the gotoAndStop(2) and then it would work...so it takes a couple milisecound after it is loaded before u can issue it a gotoAnd command...funny no one else has come accross this....

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    384
    Hmmmm, I use MX. And there's definately nothing in the online documentation for MX 2004 that has loadClip. Mmk.

    You must be using a function of whatever mcl is.

    ---Edit: Ahh, just found the moviecliploader component. That answers it. Oh I don't like components. =)

  5. #5
    Poof! Whaddya need? I'mFine's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    345

    bdog u rock

    I've been having the same problem getting loaded movies to play -- whether loaded with loadMovie or with loadClip. Your setInterval workaround did the trick.

    MX definitely didn't give have this problem.

    I've seen elsewhere that MX2004 falsely reports completion of a load action... I think there's a major problem with it.

    Another major issue is with createEmptyMovieClip. You have to use workarounds to manipulate the clip after it's created. Especially if you try to set the _width or the _height properties -- it disappears completely.

    Hoping for an update on the player. I think it has some biiiiig holes.

    p.s. I'm using Flash version 7.2
    True genius consists of the ability to work around one's shortcomings.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center