A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: bullet points in textbox?

  1. #1
    Flash Incompetent ChaseNYC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    new york city
    Posts
    693

    bullet points in textbox?

    is there some way to make bullet points in a multiline textbox? I need it to look like as follows:

    - Blah blah Blah blah Blah blah Blah blah Blah blah Blah
    (space) blah Blah blah

    not to that extreme but it seems hard to do the same thing in this message box. Basically i need an identation for all the text but have the bullet point all the way to the left. anyways thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Who, What, Why ... ? Fraggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Flashland .. where else ?
    Posts
    786
    Text boxes can contain HTML using the "<>" button in the text box properties panel. Therefore, if you know the HTML code for bullet points, insert that between the Flash <> tags and bobs your uncle.

    Regards,

  3. #3
    Flash Incompetent ChaseNYC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    new york city
    Posts
    693
    beautiful sir, thank you greatly

  4. #4
    Who, What, Why ... ? Fraggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Flashland .. where else ?
    Posts
    786
    Just been on your website, looks good. Just one thing about your menu, if you stick a boundry script on it you can stop it from scrolling all the way across into the black. Apart from that small thing, its a nice touch.

    Regards,

  5. #5
    Flash Incompetent ChaseNYC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    new york city
    Posts
    693
    heheh, thanks, i just realized i had a website! i made that maybe 3 years ago when i first started flash... by the way, you seem to know a lot, is there any chance you could help me via AIM or PMing? i really need some one on one help about something that will save me hours of work... basically i can't figure out what is wrong with this second line of code...

    _level0.MainArea2.attachMovie("txtbox", "txtbox1",1);
    _level0.MainArea2.txtbox1.loadVariables("lighter.h tm",stuff);

    thanks a lot
    mmm signature

  6. #6
    Who, What, Why ... ? Fraggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Flashland .. where else ?
    Posts
    786
    I wouldnt say I know alot, theres still alot I need to learn myself. What is it your trying to acheive and what are the mcs etc involved?

    Have you tried putting quotation marks around the word stuff?

    Regards,
    Last edited by Fraggs; 08-12-2004 at 03:49 AM.

  7. #7
    Flash Incompetent ChaseNYC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    new york city
    Posts
    693
    umm i PMed you and tried to ICQ you or whatever it is called but i guess i can try to explain it here...
    I have a main movie which can be found at http://www.geocities.com/ihrimtest/Index2.html
    now all the buttons load different SWFs which inturn load different HTML files into the textbox part but i had to change it and i made just one MC that is in the main movie which now gets loaded but i can't figure out how to through each button not only load the textbox but also tell it which text to load if that makes any sense...

    by the way if you would rather chat over ICQ my brand new ICQ number is 254537822
    mmm signature

  8. #8
    Who, What, Why ... ? Fraggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Flashland .. where else ?
    Posts
    786
    Are you saying that you don't want any text to be visable until the user presses a button?

  9. #9
    Flash Incompetent ChaseNYC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    new york city
    Posts
    693
    well if you went to the site, it will basically look exactly the same, when you click any of the buttons it loads the textbox with the text in it. But i can't figure out how to tell the textbox to load the text...
    mmm signature

  10. #10
    Flash Incompetent ChaseNYC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    new york city
    Posts
    693
    let's see if i can elaborate a little, the load command, in the movie:

    onClipEvent (load) {
    loadVariables("us13.txt", this);
    }

    but now that there is one MC that all the buttons use i need to have the loading code not be in the MC itself but for each button to tell the MC what clip to load.
    mmm signature

  11. #11
    Who, What, Why ... ? Fraggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Flashland .. where else ?
    Posts
    786
    I'm at work right now and due to restrictions set by IBM (our systems IT provider) we only have flash player 5, so anything built in flash MX or above is unviewable so I wasn't able to view your site.

    If your wanting to know how to load text I have a script for you here, just place it on your button:
    code:
    on (release) {
    loadText = new loadVars();
    loadText.load("textFile.txt");//textFile is the .txt file name
    loadText.onLoad = function(success) {
    if (success) {
    textBox.html = true; //textBox is the dynamic text box name
    textBox.htmlText = this.myText;
    }
    };
    }


    You will need to change the script so it loads the correct file for each button. In your text file you need to start with
    PHP Code:
    myText
    Then place your text after it, the mytext= part will not be visable.

    You have done the ICQ thing correctly by the way, as I said before, I`m at work and havn't been able to accept your request but I will do when I get home.

    If you need more help just let me know though.

    Regards,

  12. #12
    Flash Incompetent ChaseNYC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    new york city
    Posts
    693
    drat... debug thingy says:

    **Warning** Symbol=USCredentialsSub, layer=Layer 1, frame=1:Line 4: Case-insensitive identifier 'loadVars' will obscure built-in object 'LoadVars'.
    loadText = new loadVars();

    Total ActionScript Errors: 1 Reported Errors: 1
    mmm signature

  13. #13
    Flash Incompetent ChaseNYC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    new york city
    Posts
    693
    alright figured it out... be back in a sec cuz something isn't working but i might be able to figure it out
    mmm signature

  14. #14
    Flash Incompetent ChaseNYC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    new york city
    Posts
    693
    AHHHH i cannot figure out this hierarchy crap for the love of me...

    lemme break it down as simply as i can here is how you get to the textbox that is being used:

    Main Movie>txtbox(mc)>Main(mc)>text1

    soooo... when i load txtbox(mc) into the blank clip on the main movie... i would think maybe this would be the right code but nooooo

    _level0.MainArea2.txtbox1.main.text1.html = true; _level0.MainArea2.txtbox1.main.text1.htmlText = this.myText;

    alright now let me go over the hierarchy of where the button thats being pushed resides:

    Main Movie>USMultiSerious(mc)>USSubMain(mc), which loads into a blank clip on it>USSubCredentials(mc)>Credentials1(the button itself)

    sooooooooo can you help or even understand what i'm saying?
    mmm signature

  15. #15
    Who, What, Why ... ? Fraggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Flashland .. where else ?
    Posts
    786
    Try:
    code:
    _root.MainArea2.txtbox1.main.text1.html = true;



    As long as you reference back to the root timeline in all your links, it shouldnt matter where your buttons are nested.

    If that don't work get back to me.

    Regards,

  16. #16
    Flash Incompetent ChaseNYC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    new york city
    Posts
    693
    i think i'm going to cry... i can't figure it out, that last one didn't work, i put a trace to make sure it was loading successfully and it is so all i know is i don't know what code to make it display it...
    is there anyway to trace() it's location? that could make things easy...
    Last edited by ChaseNYC; 08-12-2004 at 04:49 AM.
    mmm signature

  17. #17
    Flash Incompetent ChaseNYC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    new york city
    Posts
    693
    wooohoooo i figured it out! sooo nice after hours of dead ends
    mmm signature

  18. #18
    Who, What, Why ... ? Fraggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Flashland .. where else ?
    Posts
    786
    What was the problem?

  19. #19
    Flash Incompetent ChaseNYC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    new york city
    Posts
    693
    hehehe, kinda embarrassing but the movie clip name was main but it's instance name textclip... teehee... don't kill me!!!
    mmm signature

  20. #20
    Who, What, Why ... ? Fraggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Flashland .. where else ?
    Posts
    786
    MUPPET !

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center