A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Netscape is killin' me!

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    82
    I have a table (with background) containing a few columns which displays fine in IE, but Netscape chops the background image of the table into each cell and puts white lines, or borders, between the columns. Can anyone help?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Beyond the Sea
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    997

    can you post it up somewhere?

    Let us take a look at the code and see what it's doing...maybe that'll help...right now, I'm not sure what it's doing. I DO know that Netscape is very wonky when it comes to tables and frames...lots of tweaking to make it look good...

    Rich

  3. #3
    caithness massiv
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    denver
    Posts
    1,672
    table+netscape=bad

    that's what i've learned... and i think it's the cold hard truth until it's fixed

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    82
    Please excuse my HTML illiteracy, and thank you for looking at my code.

    </TABLE>
    <P>&nbsp;</P>
    <TABLE width="70%" border="0" bgcolor="#999999">
    <TR>
    <TD height="2">&nbsp;</TD>
    <TD height="2">&nbsp;</TD>
    <TD height="2">&nbsp;</TD>
    <TD height="2">&nbsp;</TD>
    <TD height="2">
    <DIV align="right">
    <SELECT name="menu1" onChange="MM_jumpMenu
    ('parent',this,0)">
    <option selected>unnamed1</option>
    </SELECT>
    </DIV>
    </TD>
    </TR>
    </TABLE>

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    200

    Cool tada!

    <html>
    <body>
    </TABLE>
    <P>&nbsp;</P>
    <TABLE width="70%" border="0" bgcolor="#999999">
    <TR>
    <TD height="2">
    <DIV align="right">
    <SELECT name="menu1" onChange="MM_jumpMenu
    ('parent',this,0)">
    <option selected>unnamed1</option>
    </SELECT>
    </DIV>
    </TD>
    </TR>
    </TABLE>
    <body>
    </html>

    forgot to put the form tag in there

    <html>
    <body>
    </TABLE>
    <P>&nbsp;</P>
    <TABLE width="70%" border="0" bgcolor="#999999">
    <TR>
    <form>
    <TD height="2">
    <DIV align="right">
    <SELECT name="menu1" onChange="MM_jumpMenu
    ('parent',this,0)">
    <option selected>unnamed1</option>
    </SELECT>
    </DIV>
    </TD>
    </form>
    </TR>
    </TABLE>
    <body>
    </html>


    [Edited by riff on 11-22-2000 at 08:31 AM]

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    97
    Try adding cellpadding = "0" and cellspacing ="0" to the table definition. It seems to work for me.

    In IE these settings default to 0 (same with border) if they are left out. In Netscape I think they default to 1.

    If you're building tables in Dreamweaver you need to make sure these values are allways filled in as 0 rather than left blank when you define the table.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center