dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Pop up from dynamically loaded <a href> tag

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    121

    Pop up from dynamically loaded .txt

    hey

    i've created a LoadVars object object, and dynamically loaded html text in to it. from that, I would like to pop up a window.

    any ideas?

    _sf
    Last edited by shannon27; 09-14-2004 at 09:26 PM.

  2. #2
    Flashkit Jedi

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Coruscant System
    Posts
    3,426
    To execute a popup (javascript) you would have to use the onClick atribute in the a tag. Unfortunatly, this isn't supported in flash.

    XFM

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    121
    ahhh. Xurion thanks for the heads up.

    i have seen this amazing site: http://www.fiveonesix.com/ which somehow uses text links with pop ups. do you know what languages they might be using with flash? just curious. this does seem like a really smart approach.

    Thanks Xurion.

    _sf

  4. #4
    Flashkit Jedi

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Coruscant System
    Posts
    3,426
    No, they are just individual buttons. Looks like a link but it isn't.

    Also, they load in external movies.

    XFM

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    121
    oh, fooled me. good to know. yeah-- loading in external movies - you mean the image files load in from separate swfs right?

    thanks for helping me out!

    how's the weather over there in the uk?

    _sf

  6. #6
    Flashkit Jedi

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Coruscant System
    Posts
    3,426
    We haven't got hurrican ivan if thats what you mean I feel sorry for Cubans!

    Anyways, Yeah, the images are in the external movies that are loaded.

    XFM

  7. #7
    Just a Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Ottawa, ON, Canada
    Posts
    54
    Shannon,

    here is an fla that helps you do pop up windows centered from flash

    but I don't believe it works with Actionscript 2.0 ....

    T.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    121
    this is great! I will definitely use this. Thanks T.

    _sf

  9. #9
    Just a Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Ottawa, ON, Canada
    Posts
    54
    enjoy, you might have to play with some of the code to get seperate windows to pop at the same time...

    T.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    121
    enjoy? do you have an attachment?

  11. #11
    Just a Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Ottawa, ON, Canada
    Posts
    54
    Shannon, what do you need an attachment for?


  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    121
    i wrote you an email about popups. maybe you didn't gt it. but that's cool. i got it.

    thanks T.

    _sf

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    1,749
    Originally posted by Xurion_Flash_Man
    To execute a popup (javascript) you would have to use the onClick atribute in the a tag. Unfortunatly, this isn't supported in flash.

    XFM
    That sounds like utter tosh.

    Flash supports clickable URLs, and you can call Javascript from the link by using "asfunction:functionName,functionArguments" as the URL.in the URL. and getURL("Javascript:....") in the function.

    If you do a search on FK you will even find a link that will generate the correct pop-up code for you. OldNewbie would actually tell you what the link is ... but I am not that generous.

    If you don't want to do that, If you include an FSCommand in the function, you can call any function in your page directly.

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    121
    AlsoGaiusCoffey

    Thank you! again! if you have time, check this site:
    http://www.fiveonesix.com

    This looks dynamically loaded to me. what do you think?


    Also, if I set type in Flash, no way can i ever get it to come out that clean. maybe i am doing something wrong, but dynamic text is much cooler anyway.

  15. #15
    Flashkit Jedi

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Coruscant System
    Posts
    3,426
    Originally posted by AlsoGaiusCoffey
    That sounds like utter tosh.
    Ummm, dod you even read the first post? We're talking about links from a loadvars text file displayed in an html enabled textfield. You can't attach actionscript to links in a html text field... can you?

    XFM

  16. #16
    Flashkit Jedi

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Coruscant System
    Posts
    3,426
    Originally posted by shannon27
    This looks dynamically loaded to me. what do you think?
    Nope, I broke em apart and they are seperate buttons.

    XFM

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    1,749
    dod you even read the first post? We're talking about links from a loadvars text file displayed in an html enabled textfield
    See attached.

    Nope, I broke em apart and they are seperate buttons.
    I have to agree with you there though.

    UPDATED WITH BETTER POPUP CODE, COURTESY OF http://www.flash-db.com/PopUp/

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    121

    Thanks Gaius

    Thanks for the nice bit o' code Gaius. Man, u're good...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center