dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: site uploading help needed

  1. #1
    Senior Member hanszorg2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    308

    site uploading help needed

    i have uploaded mysite using wsftphome, but i cant view it in my browser, sitename is www.3dmsi.net,

    problem is its not opening the index.html page automatically, i have to manually type it after www.3dmsi.net only then it shows in my browser

    please help ( desperstely needed)

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Land of free speech
    Posts
    98
    My guess is you have not uploaded it to the right directory. Try putting your site in the folder named something like: wwwroot, docroot, public_html or similar.
    Hope that helps.
    Cheers
    If it ain't broke - break it!

  3. #3
    Senior Member hanszorg2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    308
    muldoon thanx for prompt reply
    but when i uploaded there were only 4 folers
    web
    dll
    webstats
    one more but none of the above u mentioned , i uploaded it in web folder
    please stay its very urgent

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Land of free speech
    Posts
    98
    Try uploading it to 'web'
    If it ain't broke - break it!

  5. #5
    Senior Member hanszorg2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    308
    its where i have uploaded it, tell me normally where its loaded, this is my first time

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Land of free speech
    Posts
    98
    Different servers have different systems. If that's the case try uploading it in the same directory as 'web' and the other folders.
    If it ain't broke - break it!

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Columbia, MD
    Posts
    60

    Server type?

    What operating system is your server running?
    Better yet, what hosting company are you going through? It would seem as though you are on a shared server of sorts, as the file system you are describing sounds rather proprietary.
    Typically the structure is as such:

    Windows:
    C:/inetpub/wwwroot/sitename/index.html

    Linux/UNIX:
    /var/www/html/index.html

    When you login to the ftp site you should be greeted with a virtual root directory. This directory is known as your home directory in a UNIX based environment. In windows it is simply your website root. In windows you will want to place your index.html file here. In unix you will have to navigate to the /var/www/html/ directory.

    So, if you can answer those initial questions for me then I will surely be able to help you more.

  8. #8
    Senior Member hanszorg2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    308
    my server is windows 2000
    when i logged through wsftphome

    it showed me four folders

    web
    webstats
    dll
    log

    i uploaded it in web folder

    now when i rechequed the directory there was an index.html file( when i opened it it had message written site under construction )outside above four folder i replaced it with my index.html but still no use

  9. #9
    Senior Member hanszorg2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    308
    service provider sit is www.directi.com

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Columbia, MD
    Posts
    60
    The only thing that I can surmise is that your web host has incorrectly configured your account. I would suggest submitting a trouble ticket. I feel for you though, as judging from the quality of the knowledge base of your hosting provider, your request will probably take alot longer than you would like. I would suggest going with someone like mediatemple.net they are great and I have been with them for several years now.

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Land of free speech
    Posts
    98
    Or give them a call: India -Tel: +91 (22) 5679 7502
    If it ain't broke - break it!

  12. #12
    Senior Member hanszorg2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    308
    muldoon the number is of which company

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Land of free speech
    Posts
    98
    It's the support line for Directi.com in India. Go to their 'contact us' page and look under 'support'. There's also an American number but you appear to be in India..
    If it ain't broke - break it!

  14. #14
    Senior Member hanszorg2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    308
    thanx muldoon, u know what the site is working know properly, automatically, still dont know what was wrong

    but now i have a new problem, let me explain

    i have already uploaded my files, right
    now suppose i do some changes in fla and reload its swf in site
    it should automatically get refreshed, right

    but now when i access my site online to see whether the new file with the correction, it shows me the same old page without correction,my friend told me thats its in the memory of my pc

    is it so then how to remove it, i have removed all the cookies & tmp files but still same

    muldoon help me again

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Land of free speech
    Posts
    98
    As long as you haven't renamed the FLA the SWF will automatically replace the old one provided you've uploaded it to the same place. You'll have to refresh your browser or better still empty the cache and restart the browser.
    If it ain't broke - break it!

  16. #16
    Senior Member hanszorg2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    308
    muldoon good u r online
    friend i didnt changed the name it overwrited the previous file in the web folder , i asked one of my friend to see the changes he can see it in his browser, i even restarted my pc, but no use

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Columbia, MD
    Posts
    60
    press [Ctrl]+[F5] to force a reload from the site (rather than the cache) in Internet Explorer. Restarting your computer will not empty the browser cache. To do so you need to go into Tools -> Internet Options in internet explorer or Preferences in Netscape.

  18. #18
    Senior Member hanszorg2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    308
    thanx meta, will try it out tomorrow when i will reload mew changes, evening it showed me the reloaded files in the browser wish me goodluck,
    thanx for helping me always, muldoon u 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center