dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 37 of 37

Thread: Making an external preloader..?

  1. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    107
    Hi oldnewbie,

    I'm back with a small problem again, sure this will be it this time. Anyway, put the website on a friend's free web space I have a splash page with use's

    on (press) {
    getURL("preloader01.swf");
    }

    to go to the external preloader which loads the main movie up, problem I 've got is when testing it on-line I'm still unable to see the preloader.

    Used your aadvice about the file name, joined everything up so what could it be??

    Your help would be appreciated Again!

  2. #22
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Is this still trying to load your "Web portfolio.swf" as your main movie?

    Do you have a link to your movie on your friend's web space?

  3. #23
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    nek vermont
    Posts
    49
    see if it works -here's the link

    http://www.glowdesignhouse.com/glowsmall.zip

    thanks

  4. #24
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Nope! Even crashes my whole system as soon as I try to open up the .fla!

  5. #25
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    107
    Yep! I'm sure it's just a small problem but, I'm at my ends trying to understand what it could be.

    I'm using your piece of code which I'm sure works, but I must be doing something wrong.

    Splash page should jump to external preloader, then to my main movie. In my thread above is the actionscript used to jump to the preloader, I was wondering if that could be the problem. Also, I changed the file names as adviced, no spaces.

  6. #26
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    107
    Here is the link, www.rehabdesignthrapy.co.uk

    He directed my domain to that of his site space.

    Thanks

  7. #27
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    107
    Suger! sorry missed one word out. www.rehabdesigntherapy.co.uk

  8. #28
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Isn't it like 3:00 am on your side of the big pond?

  9. #29
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Can you re-attach your latest preloader01.fla, zipped up and in MX only format?

  10. #30
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Ummmmmmh! Works for me!
    Although, since it's not that heavy, it goes pretty fast on my cable connection...

    EDIT
    Last edited by oldnewbie; 12-03-2004 at 03:22 AM.

  11. #31
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    107
    Hey oldnewbie

    What can I say, I'm a late nighter, always have been can't help it. You say it's ok on your end, sound find but I'm on Dial-up. Yeah, I know, no self respecting web-surfer would be using it.

    Anyhow, I don't get the preloader when I enter, just a long break on the splash page then into the main.

    Here is my Preloader again.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  12. #32
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Will have a look... But does my link work for you? You must see that preloader on a dial-up, right?

  13. #33
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Well it works for me M8!

    Maybe it's the way your friend as set this up on his server...

    But if you test my file (with the full server url), you should see it!
    Don't forget to clear your cache betwen tests.
    Last edited by oldnewbie; 12-03-2004 at 03:22 AM.

  14. #34
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    107
    Thanks for checking it over, maybe all it needed was the full URL, but I'm going to try it tomorrow, when I get hold my friend again.

    Your version the preloader worked find on dial-up, hopefully the full URL should make the difference.

    One last thing, on my splash page I use the

    on (press) {
    getURL("preloader01.swf");
    }


    is that ok?
    Last edited by Duane79; 09-22-2004 at 01:46 AM.

  15. #35
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397

  16. #36
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    107
    Thanks oldnewbie,

    Preloader problem seems to be all solved now, Loads just fine.
    All it needs now are a few stylistic changes and ensuring everything is functioning.

    Check it out. www.rehabdesigntherapy.co.uk

    It's my first site so, I hope it's ok. Any criticism or opinions are welcome.

    About to try the site check forum to get some their too,

    Thanks

  17. #37
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Nice! Never did anything comparable yet... Would you believe it! It's true! Good luck!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center