A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Makking buttons open a url in a different html frame.

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    11

    Makking buttons open a url in a different html frame.

    How would I make a button open a page in a different html frame? You can find an example of the site I'm developing at www.dreamlangames.com/trav/

  2. #2
    Senior Member green_eye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Sarasota, Florida
    Posts
    1,496
    Target the frame name from the button.

    on(release){getURL("myPage.html","left");}
    Last edited by green_eye; 09-19-2004 at 08:02 PM.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    11
    Originally posted by green_eye
    Target the frame name from the button.

    on(release){"myPage.html","left");}
    Well I put:

    "./newsframe.html","main"

    or

    "./newsframe.html","mainframe"

    and it says it cant find the above lines when I hit the button. What am I doing wrong?

  4. #4
    Oso polar Poco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Slovakia
    Posts
    218
    How is the whole action of your button?

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    11
    Originally posted by Poco
    How is the whole action of your button?
    on (release) {
    getURL("./newsframe.html", "_main");
    }

    I've also tried mainFrame(which is that it's called as a frame on the home.html page). It either doesn't open the window, or it opens just the newsframe alone. I need just the mainframe to change and to leave the header & menu frame alone.

  6. #6
    Oso polar Poco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Slovakia
    Posts
    218
    code:

    on (release) {
    getURL("newsframe.html", "_main");
    }



    Now it should work if your frame is called "_main".

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    11
    Originally posted by Poco
    code:

    on (release) {
    getURL("newsframe.html", "_main");
    }



    Now it should work if your frame is called "_main".
    The reason I have the ./newsframe.html is because it is located a folder up from where the .swf is.

    (folder)newsframe.html < (folder)Menu.swf

  8. #8
    Oso polar Poco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Slovakia
    Posts
    218
    In that case it should be:
    "..//mainframe.html"

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    11
    Originally posted by Poco
    In that case it should be:
    "..//mainframe.html"
    No I'm sure, its not the page I'm targeting thats the problem. It's targeting the frame to open that page is what I need to get.

  10. #10
    Oso polar Poco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Slovakia
    Posts
    218
    Uh, I am confused. Sorry to say but my English sucks. Look, here is an example (I made it long ago for a web page). Don't you mean this?
    Attached Files Attached Files

  11. #11
    Oso polar Poco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Slovakia
    Posts
    218
    ...because if you mean, (I see I forgot to put there the fla there) the action of the button is
    code:
    on (release) {
    getURL("onas.htm", "mainFrame");
    }


    If not, I give up.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center