dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: xml data not loading (simple)

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    33

    xml data not loading (simple)

    Hi...i have this pretty funk, weird script which transforms my movies.
    well...what i want to do, is have it apply this to the data is taken from a XML file. but when i test it, none of the data is displayed.
    i will provide my FLA cos its way difficult to explain.
    if anyone has the time to look, thanks!

    its the image3 which has the XML script in it! thanks
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Senior Member tokyo_sky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Tokyo
    Posts
    201
    howz abt this
    Attached Files Attached Files
    A spark of light in a dark wibbly wobbly world

  3. #3
    Senior Member tokyo_sky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Tokyo
    Posts
    201
    moved functions to frame (easier to see i think) made enterframe function to call resize buttons now call _parent.function

    its comming along nice
    A spark of light in a dark wibbly wobbly world

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    33
    ah wow! thanks!!
    BUT...and sorry to be so picky...
    the masking isnt working...i want the txt to look like it comes from underneath the frame that there is...not over the top.
    where shall i mask it now then? when i mask the XML everything but the XML shows....
    thanks again for your help!
    you're a life saver!

    once completed i will link to your site or comment on your help!

    -edit:
    i sort of fixed this, but i dont think its the best way...i cut out the sides of the background, and then pasted them above the xml layer, so it looks like the XML slides underneath the frame....
    (us peeps lacking the tech skills have to use creativy i guess...) lol
    Last edited by michaelbrindley; 10-28-2004 at 12:07 AM.

  5. #5
    Senior Member tokyo_sky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Tokyo
    Posts
    201
    here...
    Attached Files Attached Files
    A spark of light in a dark wibbly wobbly world

  6. #6
    Senior Member tokyo_sky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Tokyo
    Posts
    201
    put 2 MC's that are the area of the mask you want on screen, first frame set alpha = 0, then used MC.setMask(mask); to apply the mask to the objects created in loadMovie. you could refine this to be all in action script (no mask MC's on stage) but i see no real advantage, you can only use one mask MC with 1 MC thats why there are 2 on stage for img1 & img2...

    i like this as it allows you 2 manipulate masks to nice effect...
    A spark of light in a dark wibbly wobbly world

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center