A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: my Flash to ASP form isn't working...help!!!

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    17

    my Flash to ASP form isn't working...help!!!

    I'm clueless when it comes to ASP, but I having to create a contact form for a site I'm working on in Flash. I've done some tutorials but for some reason it simply isn't working. (yes, I do have ASP technology on the server). Here is what I got:

    here is what my form looks like. All of the input text fields are in a movie clip called myForm. The fields are labeled:
    fname (first name)
    lname (last name)
    and so forth and so on...
    here is what my properties look like for those fields:


    This is what my ASP page code looks like:

    <%@language = "VBScript" %>
    <%

    strFirst = Request.Form("fname")
    strLast = Request.Form("lname")
    strEmail = Request.Form("email")
    strMessage = Request.Form("message")

    MyPath=Server.MapPath("webcontacts.mdb")
    Set conn = Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Connection")
    conn.Open "Driver={Microsoft Access Driver (*.mdb)};" & _
    "DBQ=" & MyPath

    SQL = "INSERT INTO contacts (FirstName, LastName, Email, Message) VALUES ('"&strFirst&"','"&strLast&"','"&strEmail&"','"&st rMessage&"')"
    conn.Execute(SQL)
    %>


    Ok,now why isn't this working???? I'm begging for help on this one. Here is a link to the site that the form is currently on (but of course, not working)
    Spectrum Productions

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    North East, MD
    Posts
    62
    you need to package all the variable you are sending from flash into a loadVars object and the use it within the send command.


    the action for your submit button should be like this:
    Code:
    on(release){
       varsObj = new LoadVar();
       varsObj.fname = fname;
       varsObj.lname = lname;
       ...
       ...
       
       varsObj.send("handler.asp","_self","POST");
    }
    "I hate when people put quotes in their signatures" -anonymous

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    17
    thanks fakester...
    now, I have that code in place, but how would I go about testing to see if the variables are being passed correctly?

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    North East, MD
    Posts
    62
    I would just print them out in your asp page without doing anything else to start with.. you might need to replace the _self with _blank in the code a gave you above while testing.. this will force the asp page to be in a new window.
    "I hate when people put quotes in their signatures" -anonymous

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    17
    ok...here is the code on the button and it's not working - no window pops up with the asp page

    on(release){
    varsObj = new LoadVar();
    varsObj.fname = fname;
    varsObj.lname = lname;
    varsObj.company = company;
    varsObj.title = title;
    varsObj.email = email;
    varsObj.message = message;
    varsObj.send("http://specvid.com/processForm.asp","_blank","POST");
    gotoAndPlay("thankyou")
    }

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    North East, MD
    Posts
    62
    Not sure why the page isnt popping up, but I gave you bad info for part of it.. it is LoadVars() not LoadVar().

    this page has some pretty good examples of how to do what you're trying to do..

    http://actionscript-toolbox.com/samplemx_loadvars.php
    "I hate when people put quotes in their signatures" -anonymous

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    17
    ok cool - I made the correction and I'm getting the window now, however, the page is a "This page cannot be displayed" page. Any ideas? It looks as if the variables are working (kinda) - they are showing up in the url field of the browswer window.

    Also, it looks as if PHP is used more than ASP...is that a better option?
    Last edited by glowworm; 11-11-2004 at 02:36 PM.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    North East, MD
    Posts
    62
    if you are using "POST" in your actionscript, the variables shouldnt be showing in the url, "GET" would make it do that.


    if you have access to php, use it.. i would choose it over asp every time. It is a very powerful language with concise syntax. There is also incredible documentation and sample code at http://www.php.net.

    but that's just my opinion.. (i hate programming with anything microsoft has developed)
    "I hate when people put quotes in their signatures" -anonymous

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    17
    Thanks so much for your help Fakester - I finally got it working!

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    17
    ok..now that I have this working, what do I need to ad to this so that my script in some way determines that certain fields have been filled out. I'm guessing some sort of "If/else" script. I want it to give some sort of indication that certain fields are required and it wont send unless those fields have been filled out.

  11. #11
    Senior Member random25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    566
    the action on my flash-asp email form looks like this:

    on (release) {
    if (!Email.length || Email.indexOf("@") == -1 || Email.indexOf(".") == -1) {
    LoginStatus = "Please enter a valid E-mail address";
    } else if (!Pwd.length) {
    LoginStatus = "Please Enter your Password";
    } else {

    loadVariablesNum("login.asp","","POST");
    LoginStatus = "Processing.....";
    }
    }

    If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe. Carl Sagan

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center