dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Where do I view the actionscript....

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    3

    Where do I view the actionscript in F. MX?

    Hi there,

    I didnt know if I should put this in the flash mx forum or the actionscript forum, so mods please move this if you think it belongs elsewhere

    I downloaded some of the various drop-down menus from here, but now need to edit it.
    I have flash mx, and the files are in the fla format, so there isnt a problem there.
    First I should say that I am very new to flash, I'm more of a programmer, not a graphics guy, but I'm trying to get in to it.
    Anyways, when I open the .fla I got, all I see is the first frame, and when I move along the frames nothing changes, so I'm thinking mostly all of the code is in the actionscript.
    So, how to I go about and view/edit the actionscript? Is it all together, or in bits in pieces with each symbol etc?
    I'm use to php/asp/java/js where all of the code is together.


    Thanks for the help, I know how annoying newbies can be

    -Jason
    Last edited by frodofan; 12-05-2004 at 12:03 AM.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    14,141
    It depends. Sometimes (specially with older versions of flash) the code goes on the object itself. sometimes on frames in the object's timeline.
    You can use the movie Explorer (F3), select the codes icon (the arrow) and it will show you all the code in that particular .fla

    gparis

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    3
    Hey, thanks for the reply

    I'm using Flash MX PRO incase that matters, and the menue I'm trying to work with is HERE

    When I went to the movie explorer (ALT+F3 in mx pro) all I was able to find was a bunch of starts and stops, but no real code.
    I'm looking for big chunks of code like this random bit I found on the site:
    PHP Code:
    onClipEvent(load) {
            
    // only setup the MCprogress variable once to begin
            
    _parent.MCprogress 0;
    }

    onClipEvent (enterFrame) {
            var 
    MCtotal _parent.getBytesTotal();
            var 
    MCloaded _parent.getBytesLoaded();
            
    // make sure the movie has begun loading before trying to work out how much is loaded
            
    if (MCtotal && MCloaded 4) {
                    
    _parent.MCprogress Math.round((MCloaded/MCtotal)*100);
                    
    // 100% loaded
                    
    if (_parent.MCprogress == 100) {
                            
    _parent.gotoAndPlay(2);
                            
    trace("done");
                    }
            }

    Any help is appreciated

    Thanks,
    Jason

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    14,141
    this is a preloader code (comparing the bytes loaded vs the bytes total).

    You didn't look very deep in the movie explorer, cause there is quite a bit of coding. The movement code is ON the movieclips. inside the movieclip 'menu' select each one of them.
    Looks a bit old in the syntax, but it works
    Could get some optimizing, as it's not using MX syntax and new methods really.

    gparis

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center