dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: is this a good effect?

  1. #1
    I have ear-mites! Help! MONSTERBOY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    LA
    Posts
    345

    is this a good effect?

    Hi, can you tell me what you think of this browser shake effect? I cant make up my mind if it's cool or not.

    my site

    thanks ppl!

    -MB

  2. #2
    Senior Member N.I.M.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    192
    I like it, thought it fits your site well, however, don't have the screen shake on every link, it gets annoying fast. Try only shaking the screen after the first load of the site. Great work on the flash though, really nice design.

    - Josh
    http://www.newinteractivemedia.com

  3. #3
    realization
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    467
    Yeah,the screen doesn't shake on every link but very nice site still

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Peterborough ON, Canada
    Posts
    5
    Particle Illustions V3

    the explotion could be placed better I think. Other than that its fly.
    IT BURNS WHEN I PEE!

  5. #5
    Senior Member mal pacino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    England - and it's going down the pan!
    Posts
    996
    well yes it does look cool and we here at the design forums like that sort of thing- it might look like a fault to someone viewing the site who isn't doing a site check and has not been warned that there will be a browser shake.

    two questions, how did you achieve this shake? and also on your preloader, how do you get the fire to follow the loading bar?

    cheers.

  6. #6
    Designs for food ZeroInspiration's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St.louis MO
    Posts
    286
    Ug javascipt lol no its an effect that never should have left the early 90's. Other than that you have a pretty nice site going.
    When you go in for a job interview, I think a good thing to ask is if they ever press charges.

  7. #7
    did0bib chero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    in a bar, under the sea
    Posts
    751
    No, really, leave the explosion for the first page only, it's a bloody fine site you have there mate, and reusing that same trick sort of cheapens it a bit - plus it draws the focus off the really nice stuff. But hey, props and respect for all else in there.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Genth, Belgium
    Posts
    72
    i agree with chero

    good work btw!

  9. #9
    I have ear-mites! Help! MONSTERBOY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    LA
    Posts
    345
    I think it's right to only have the browser shake once, in the beginning.....OR NONE AT ALL. I agree with someone who said it's a sort of silly effect-----but it can be really cool for example here:

    Gorilla Glue

    The effect works great on this site---

    Dont know if my site is the right kind for this shake thing though.
    Plus you get that browser "CLICK" noise everytime it shakes..ug.

  10. #10
    I have ear-mites! Help! MONSTERBOY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    LA
    Posts
    345
    Ok, here's what I did. I took the browser shake off everything except when you first get in the site.

    And, I made it bigger because it only happens once.

    Question: Does the browser shake-effect stop the explosion-animation while the browser is still shaking? Does this look stupid?

    Thanks,

    -MB

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    135
    Resize my browser again and I will kill you.

    Seriously when you resize my window it makes it take up a 1/4 of my screen horizontally. Maybe you should make several functions with different horizontal resolutions and use flash to check the user's resolution. Then it would use a different function based on the resolution.

    Ok I used the word resolution way too much... glad this isn't a paper I'm turning in.

  12. #12
    I have ear-mites! Help! MONSTERBOY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    LA
    Posts
    345
    what are you talking about? There is no browser-resizer on my site.

    HELLOOOOO!

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    135
    It is the shake effect that causes it.

    Test this in a mozilla based browser (Netscape, Firefox, etc):
    Open a new browser window.
    Put the window in the sized down state. (When you see the single box in the upper right corner)
    Make the window smaller than full screen.
    Now hit single box to maximize your window.
    Visit your website.

    The shake effect boots the browser out of the maximized state back into the sized down state. Returning the window to its sized down resolution. While this will only effect about 10% of the users that use the internet it is very frustrating for those 10% when effects like this happen. If for some reason you get hardly any mozilla based browsers visiting your website then this is not an issue (check your logs to see what browsers come to your site).

    A possible fix would be to rewrite the shake effect so it does not occur on non IE based browsers.

  14. #14
    I have ear-mites! Help! MONSTERBOY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    LA
    Posts
    345
    oh, thats wierd.

    I'll probably end up taking it off, it's kind of a stupid effect...

    I definitly dont want to have any cross-platform dificulties...

    Thanks for the feedback, I really appreciate it.


  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    135
    Not a problem, glad to help.

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    135
    I just thought of something. You can make the shake effect inside the flash movie. Instead of making the window resize and alter just have the actual movie shake in it's spot. It will require you to go in and move your movie around inside flash but the effect will not affect anyone's browser.

  17. #17
    I have ear-mites! Help! MONSTERBOY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    LA
    Posts
    345
    Genius ideas are often the most obvious. Thanks! I'll try that out!

    MB

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    135
    Always glad to help. I've got one more little idea for you.

    Since you have the animation that shrinks the window down when it loads each link you should have a small peice of script that makes it so whatever page you are on the link does not work for that page.

    In other words:
    Make the button visibility set to 0 for the about instance when you are on the about page. Once you click another link then the visibilty is set back to 1 and the new link is set to 0. This would likely help out 56k users who have their cache set low since it will prevent unneeded loading.

    What I mean by the about instance is the actual hit area of the about button, not the words ABOUT. This applies to every link that loads in your flash movie.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center