dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Making flash a link

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    1

    Making flash a link

    Can someone explain to me how to make a flash movie on a website a link using HTML?

    i have the flash all set on the website, just need to make it a link! thanks!

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    12
    u can use the geturl comand
    ex.:
    code:
    getURL("http://www.flaskit.com","_self");



    the _self comand refers to open the page in the same window, if u want to open it in a new window use _blank
    action = reaction

  3. #3
    did0bib chero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    in a bar, under the sea
    Posts
    751
    You'll need to make a transparent button (or transparent mc) that covers your stage area & place it in the topmost layer (actually second topmost, just below actions)
    http://www.flashkit.com/board/showth...hreadid=602922
    (edit): and then add the code, either to it (button only):
    code:

    on (release) {
    getURL("urlHere", "_main");
    }


    or in the main timeline (button or mc):
    code:

    instanceName.onRelease = function() {
    getURL("urlHere", "_main");
    };

    Last edited by chero; 01-19-2005 at 08:32 AM.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    9

    self command

    I had success with the instructions and I used self so that the url would use the same window...however, it came up in it's own window and the flash movie is still going in the window behind it. Did I not understand the self command?
    thanx for your help.
    js

  5. #5
    did0bib chero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    in a bar, under the sea
    Posts
    751
    Use "_main" rather than "_self".

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    9

    self worked

    I'm not quite sure why, but when I put it all into Dreamweaver, it worked fine! Anyway, I got everything figured out and everything's working. Thanx so much for your help.
    js

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center