dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: In Theory - Hardcore Tile Based Question

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    189

    In Theory - Hardcore Tile Based Question

    I was watching a friend play Diablo2 last night for an hour or so, and noticed that basically Diablo and Diablo2 just work off Tile Based graphics engines. That got my little flash mind wondering.....

    Would Flash be capable of running something like Diablo2?

    Note: I'm not asking how much work it would take (bloody heaps) or saying that I want to do it right now (well I'd like no, but no way do I have the resources to!).

    Just....do you recon, with all the different Tile based engines we've seen so far, from Strille, Tonypa, etc.....if the effort was put in, could they feasibly handle something like Diablo2?

  2. #2
    better than chuck norris
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    West Coast of Michigan
    Posts
    668
    yes.

    but a scaled down version of course.













    you mortals always forget that anything is possible.

  3. #3
    jtnw's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    1,328
    Yes it's possible, but don't expect to be running many intelligent AI enemies. That's where alot of the FPS is lost.

    jtnw

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    189
    Mmmm...yeah, pity the code is so slow, can't get highly intelligent AI.....or can you? Haven't heard of anyone really pushing the limits of AS2 yet (or try some insane thing with bytecode)

    Oh well, hopefully future versions of the flash player will improve performance.....and CPU's are always getting faster. Mmmmm...now that makes me wonder how Flash will run on these new Dual-Core Cpu's AMD and Intel are jumping up and down about......

    Back to the topic at hand. So, we recon graphically, it's feasible for flash to run something like Diablo2 ...... Hey Jobe, I got this really good idea for a Multiplayer game......can I have that free copy of ElectroServer now? :P

    j/k

  5. #5
    Senior Member tonypa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Estonia
    Posts
    8,227
    Diablo doesnt have intelligent enemies. They mostly check if player is visible and then attack, thats not intelligent. For most part you can build similar game in Flash too, only scrolling the stage will set you down so you need to choose to make either non-scrolling game or to use very small stage area, neither of which are very good options.

  6. #6
    Say hello to Bob Kakihara's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    kent, England
    Posts
    1,067
    You could always forget about the scrolling and do what HappinessSame did (i think it was him) with the Doomed engine, split it into many rooms and load the tile maps as needed, that should save a chunk of fps.

    I dont see why a game like Diablo couldnt be made in flash, i mean like tonypa said the enemies arent that intelligent, they follow the character and attack when close enough, should just take some well made if statemenes.

    good luck anyway.
    If our body is a clock ticking away and if while we experience all that this world has to offer time has still continued to pass, are we living or just experiencing a slow death?

  7. #7
    n00b LeechmasterB's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    1,067
    Originally posted by tonypa
    only scrolling the stage will set you down so you need to choose to make either non-scrolling game or to use very small stage area, neither of which are very good options.
    I do not really agree with any of that.
    I do stuff that does stuff...

    J-Force

  8. #8
    Senior Member tonypa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Estonia
    Posts
    8,227
    Originally posted by LeechmasterB
    I do not really agree with any of that.
    With what?

  9. #9
    self-portrait Kianis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    425
    link

    DancingOctopus had a demo with even more tiles that ran really smooth.
    // Mazapán, my portfolio

  10. #10
    n00b LeechmasterB's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    1,067
    It is so ****ing easy to do nice scrolling of 1600 x 1600 pix maps so I donjt really see your point. Also ai is no big deal.... so whats the actual problem= ? Nothging diablo could be modded close to 100 %of the original. and i mean .
    I do stuff that does stuff...

    J-Force

  11. #11
    n00b LeechmasterB's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    1,067
    And yes i have played diablo 1 and two single player as multi, i know exactly what it is like and what id does engine wise!
    I do stuff that does stuff...

    J-Force

  12. #12
    CRT Boy mclelun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    happy land
    Posts
    299
    is that DancingOctopus tiles really big or just me. anyway interesting demo, but i not really like that control

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    189
    Originally posted by LeechmasterB
    Nothging diablo could be modded close to 100 %of the original. and i mean .
    can we get that again, in english this time?

  14. #14
    self-portrait Kianis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    425
    Originally posted by mclelun
    is that DancingOctopus tiles really big or just me. anyway interesting demo, but i not really like that control
    That's my demo. Is was just trying to show that you could get away with a decent screensize if you use larger tiles. DancingOctopus' demo had about the same screensize and even more tiles (much smaller ones) and it ran smoothly too.
    // Mazapán, my portfolio

  15. #15
    Senior Member mbenney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    2,744
    I think some of you get an engine concept and full game a little confused sometimes. Sure a scrolling engine runs at full speed at super high map sizes... but thats all it is, a scrolling engine. Add everything else you need for a finished game and suddenly it doesn't scroll so smoothly anymore.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center