dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Bump thing?

  1. #1
    Flash Trainee In Training
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Huntington beach, California
    Posts
    128

    Bump thing?

    Ok guys, what im looking for is at
    http://www.tpd.torrnet.com/patroldivision.htm

    go there, top right its got the ""excellence tghrough teamwork" that loops and such, well i want to create the same exact thing but have it say "peacemakers journal" for my dades police officers for christ website, ( www.pofci.org ) if anyone could hlpe me figure out how to do that <3 much, thanks guys
    -Don't Lie to make someone feel better, it leads to only worse things.-

  2. #2
    FK's Geezer Mod Ask The Geezer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Out In The Pasture
    Posts
    20,490
    You mean the ripple in the text?

    Make the smaller text inside a movie clip. Put that on a layer at the bottom. Make 2 layers above that. In the upper of those 2, make a fill, like a rectangle, any color. Convert it to a movie clip. Inside that clip, tween that rectangle about 20 frames or so, with no stop in it, so it loops. Run that rectangle tween over the text.

    Go back to the main timeline, Drag out another instance of that text movie clip and put it under the rectangle clip and kind of center it over the other text. Then scale up that second text clip to about 105%. Click the middle layer, [rectangle] and set as a Mask.

    Test it.

  3. #3
    Flash Trainee In Training
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Huntington beach, California
    Posts
    128
    im sorry but you just soo lost me
    -Don't Lie to make someone feel better, it leads to only worse things.-

  4. #4
    FK's Geezer Mod Ask The Geezer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Out In The Pasture
    Posts
    20,490
    Here is a very crude example of the masking effect.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  5. #5
    Flash Trainee In Training
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Huntington beach, California
    Posts
    128
    im having a really hard time using that, i opened it and when i go to preview it , well first off when it opened all my toolbars and such were gone, and now when i do preview, it just loads it like a new fla with 1 layer and the worlds ripple on it,
    -Don't Lie to make someone feel better, it leads to only worse things.-

  6. #6
    FK's Geezer Mod Ask The Geezer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Out In The Pasture
    Posts
    20,490
    Ah. I use two monitors, and all my toolbars are on the one you can't see. So go to Window/Panel Sets, and reset it for Default Layout. That will get them back.

    Open the library to see the movie clips. Everything that makes it work is in there. This is a very crude example. You will have to play with the text you use and the size of the mask and the masked text to get what you want.

  7. #7
    Flash Trainee In Training
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Huntington beach, California
    Posts
    128
    thanks a lot for the help., im on Dual monitors as well, with flash being on the right monitor, but what you said helped, thansk for the "curde" example, its perfect, I understand it now and appreciate your help so very much. thanks again

    -ChaseBadKids
    -Don't Lie to make someone feel better, it leads to only worse things.-

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center