dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Frames Per Second..

  1. #1
    :the D. Ziner: GraphicsGuru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    sitting in front of my computer.
    Posts
    379

    Frames Per Second..

    I know this has been asked before and there is tuts for this but.. would someone please tell me how to run the smooothest movies. What FPS are you using.

    I want my movies to be smoother..
    im at the default right now.

    Check it: www.mcdivinity.com

    Thanks Folk.

    GG
    imac, do you?
    www.carpedenimjeans.com
    seize life.

  2. #2
    Self-portrait mark_my_words's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Internet-land.
    Posts
    256
    if you want your movies to be smoother, run your animations at about 24 fps and up.

    Remember that higher frame rates arent always good for a computer (usally slow ones). Dont go above 100. That will just use up for frames for only a second.

    24 fps is good maybe for your site. do a couple of tests.
    Artificial Memories v0.9.2b
    "Preserving life's precious moments and making new ones"
    2009 MemoryCorp - A Walmart company

  3. #3
    :the D. Ziner: GraphicsGuru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    sitting in front of my computer.
    Posts
    379
    thanks..

    it looks better

    I am using the LoadMovie command, loading other movies onto my page, will they all play at 24 fps, or can you make a loaded movie play at more or less?

    GG
    imac, do you?
    www.carpedenimjeans.com
    seize life.

  4. #4
    Addicted To FruityLoops Studio FlashKid105's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Madison, Wisconsin For Cryin' Out Loud
    Posts
    819
    If you're loading any movies into your main movie, yes, they will all play at 24 fps. No need to worry about setting their frame rates manually.

  5. #5
    Senile member! :)
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Saunaswamp (transl)
    Posts
    2,296
    Well there is one trap and that is if you're using streaming sounds in the loaded movie. That would force all other movies to run in it's own framerate.

    Also I remeber reading about an framerate issue on MAC wich required a framerate ending with 1 (e.g: 21 or 31) in order to make it run smooth.

  6. #6
    Addicted To FruityLoops Studio FlashKid105's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Madison, Wisconsin For Cryin' Out Loud
    Posts
    819
    Oh,

    I never thought of that


    If you don't use streaming sounds in your loaded movie, you'll be fine. I've never used streaming sounds in my Flash movies.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center