dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21

Thread: 1024 width problem

  1. #1
    Moonlight shadow asheep_uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,010

    1024 width problem

    I am aware there are many threads like this, but it is still a problem.

    The new FK layout does not fit on a 1024x768 screen and it is annoying. I love the upgrade, but I'd really appreciate it if there was an alternative layout or the location of the advert was moved.

    Many thanks,

    Tom

  2. #2
    What is not fitting on the screen for you? I use 1024 X 768 exclusively and everything fits ok for me. The ad placement at the top has changed to remove the huge empty spaces on either side of the ad but other then that, the layout is the same.

  3. #3
    Moonlight shadow asheep_uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,010
    Everything fits fine, just the advert pops out the edge slightly. About 40 pixels too wide - it's quite small.

    Tried Firefox as well, same thing happens. Thanks for your help.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    1,582
    We may be able to shrink the header a tiny bit, but I didn't think 30px was worth the trouble

  5. #5
    Senior Member dudeqwerty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Bosnia
    Posts
    1,626
    i get a horizontal scrollbar at 1024x768, and there's nothing worse that a horizontal scrollbar

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    1,582
    There's a little scroll but it doesn't require you to scroll to view the forum.

  7. #7
    Moonlight shadow asheep_uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,010
    It doesn't, the problem is it jumps across when it is going directly to a post and cuts off part of the username etc. While it isn't a big problem, it just looks silly. I appreciate the efforts you're taking to make it look normal.

  8. #8
    Senior Member dudeqwerty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Bosnia
    Posts
    1,626
    its still a horizontal scrollbar and in some posts u do have to scroll to see all the text.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    1,582
    Shouldn't be one now. Not at 1024 anyway

  10. #10
    If you see a thread like that please post a link to it here. I've been through a bunch of them but everything looked good.

    Nice work with the header JP. Thanks!

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    1,582
    Oh, t'weren't nuttin

  12. #12
    Senior Member dudeqwerty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Bosnia
    Posts
    1,626
    nice one!

  13. #13
    Moonlight shadow asheep_uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,010
    Wow thanks so much! I just reached down to the bottom of the window to scroll to the left and noticed that I couldn't!

    Looks good guys - thank you very much!

  14. #14
    Senior Member dudeqwerty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Bosnia
    Posts
    1,626
    if you use the[/as tags then your code doesnt get wrapped like this:
    code:
    if(this==that && that== this&& somethingelse>someVariablewithaReallyLongnam&&anot  herVariablewithAreallyLongNamejustLikeThisOne==abc  defghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz){
    //do something
    }


    now you get a horizontal scrollbar.
    New sig soon

  15. #15
    Good catch! Maybe JP can look into this as I believe it’s a vB code issue. I'll forward this thread to him if he doesn’t see it.

    Thanks!

  16. #16
    Senior Member dudeqwerty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Bosnia
    Posts
    1,626
    no probs
    New sig soon

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    1,582
    I took out the wrap on request of those here. Now if I put it back, the original complaintants will complain again.

  18. #18
    Oh no... I thought that original issue with the horizontal scroll was because of an ad placement but not because of the as code. If it’s the same issue then it would be better to leave it. Folks can just enter down on the code as their typing it in to prevent the horizontal scroll.

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    1,582
    It's not related to the scroll, just to adding spaces in long strings of text to encourage wrapping.

  20. #20
    ·»¤«· >flashl!ght<'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    746
    if you use the[/as tags then your code doesnt get wrapped like this:
    It's always been like this, and it's like this on purpose, for good reason. If the code was wrapped, it would no longer be in proper formatting. The very point of the AS tag is to preserve the formatting, and even so if copy/pasted it still works. Of course it would be nice if the rest of the message which had the AS would still word wrap, but that's an issue with vB and good luck modifying that
    >flashl!ght<
    All the normal names were taken.
    Ron Paul was right.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center