dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: Can i get some help on making this Menu?

Can i get some help on making this Menu?

Hello All,

This is my first post.. to the introduction: I am a student that lives in switzerland. Im 21 years of age, and a lover of all things design. Im slowly working my way into the world of flash. So in other words, yes, im a newbie...

I was working on a new website, and i came accross this menu on: http://www.johnathanrice.com/ I love the way you can click navigate, and the menu scrolls in like that. I was wondering if anyone could help me, or tell me what i needed to do to make it work.

So far i have the symbols (buttons) done and have some code on the navigate button making the others scroll in.

on (release) {
    gotoAndPlay(1);
    }

right now, it doesnt stop at the end of scene 1. scene 1 being the scrolling out. and scene 2 for scrolling in. Im not sure how to code it, so that with one click, it scrolls out and stops. and on the other click, it scrolls out again. Has anyone done something like this or can point me in the right direction.

On a side note, i downloaded a couple of menus in the movies section of the site (a great resource btw.) and i could find anything like this.. on some of the menus, i found on the timeline next to the little a that symbolizes action script a little red flag on some peoples code. what is that good for? was just curious what that little red flag meant

any help would be really appreciated!

Greetings
    Michael

Welcome to Flashkit!!! You should find all your answers on this site.

//Layer 1 Frame 1
    Stop();

//Layer 2 Frame 1
    Have your Menu Button

// Button Code Frame1
    on(release){
    gotoAndPlay(2);
    }

//Layer 3 Frame 2
    Here is where you want to start your Motion Tween on moving your Menu Out.
    Lets say your tween gos from Frame 2 to Frame 12

//Layer 1 Frame 12
    insert a blank keyframe then in your actionscript window add Stop();