dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: control movieclip from button in another movieclip

control movieclip from button in another movieclip

I've been searching and searching for the answer to this newbie problem, but I can't find it, so I hope someone won't mind pointing me in the right direction.

I have 5 buttons within movieclip (1); movieclip (1) is located on the main timeline. I'm trying to get the buttons to jump to a certain frame of movieclip (2) which is also located on the main timeline.
    The code I've been using for, say, the first button is:

Code:
    Code:
    on (release) { _root.mainwindow_rooms.gotoAndPlay("lounge"); }
    "mainwindow_rooms" is both the library name and the linkage identifier of movieclip (2). It doesn't have an instance name on the stage (is that relevant?)

I can't get this to work. Can someone please help me with this? I have no idea what I'm doing wrong, I'm not very good with Flash.

Without a instance name Flash can not target the movieclip, its like it is unnamed.

Youre code is correwct, you only have to give the movieclip the instance name of mainwindow_rooms

-Pelle Piano
    // Image Gallery
    www.studiobild.com
    // Photo Blog
    http://talesofthepixel.blogspot.com

Thanks for the reply.

I tried what you said but it still wouldn't work. After a bit of searching I tried using the tellTarget method, but I couldn't get that to work, either.
    I tried to upload the .fla in a .zip but it's too large by a little so I've hosted it elsewhere. If anyone has the time to look at it and make corrections/suggestions, I'd be very grateful.

*file removed*

Thanks

Lee
    Last edited by lee cassidy; 07-07-2005 at 08:26 PM.

Its your buttons that are not working ( the invisible ones ), not the code. You can not use a button for the hit state of another button. Use a simple shape instead.

Also your framelabel is "bedroom", but in youre button you are targeting "bedrooms".

-Pelle Piano
    // Image Gallery