dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: Help with game

Help with game

Hi. i am fairly new to 3dfa and javascript and i would like some help with a game i am creating. the game consists of targets that when are shot will blow up. what i would like to do is have an animated target that will clone and fly accross the screen every few seconds at a rondom y position. i have written this in the starting script which clones the target "Bird3" 15 times.

myBird = element ("Bird3")
    Bird3_array = new Array (15)
    for (n=0; n<Bird3_array.length; n++){
    Bird3_array[n] = myBird.clone ()
    Bird3_array[n].y = random
    Bird3_array[n].show()
    }

i have come accross a few probelms with this.
    1. i have written random becuase i do not know the correct script to make the element appear at a random y position. i have tried a few scripts i have found on this forum to make elements appear at random position however none of these work
    2. i would like to know how to make each of the clones appear at intervals and not all at the same time
    3. if possible i would also like to make it so that these cloned elements will appear at random intervals of either 1,2 or 3 seconds

thanks in advance for your help
    Sterny

heres a code that shows how random numbers work

beers[y].y=root.randomRange(10,50)
    beers[y].velocity.y=root.randomRange(40*level,100*level)
    }

if you want it to wait a couple of seconds before the next one comes out go under "events" and select delay time and you can work with that. If you want a traget to come after the first target is destroyed therer are many options to do that. I;m kinda busy so I dont have time to explain. tell me if this helps at all.
    BC

thank you for your help. i have tried this however when i start the game it comes up with an error saying that randomRange has not been found. am i right in saying that beers[y] should be replaced by the name of my element?
    Last edited by Sterny101; 08-08-2005 at 04:53 AM.