Ofline links in Flash Player take Firefox to howstuffworks.com ? - Page 2
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 31 of 31

Thread: Ofline links in Flash Player take Firefox to howstuffworks.com ?

  1. #21
    poet and narcisist argonauta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Under the bed
    Posts
    2,080
    same test under with the swf in c:\blog opens firefox and sends me to blogger.com

    so it has a pattern

    What i dunno is why it only does this when firefox opens for the first time. Why does it open two tabs? and why one tries to find a site with the path of your file (without the name of the file itself), but when it's opend it tries to find the name of the file itself or go to www.nameoffile.jpg or whatever extension you're using.

    pretty interesting behavior
    my blog: blog.innocuo
    Sponsored by your mom.

  2. #22
    associate admedia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    is
    Posts
    1,347
    That's wierd.
    I ran a similar test.
    Made 1 button .swf that links to
    picture.jpg in My Pictures folder
    with getURL('picture.jpg');
    click swf, click button
    piture opens in FireFox as expected.

  3. #23
    G-Mace cougrhky20's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Northern Virginia
    Posts
    156
    def wierd but interesting. good work finding the cause of that.

  4. #24
    poet and narcisist argonauta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Under the bed
    Posts
    2,080
    Quote Originally Posted by admedia
    That's wierd.
    I ran a similar test.
    Made 1 button .swf that links to
    picture.jpg in My Pictures folder
    with getURL('picture.jpg');
    click swf, click button
    piture opens in FireFox as expected.
    i forgot to mention, that i used getURL('this.jpg') but there was no this.jpg, so i forced the error by not putting the file there

    yeah, when i put this.jpg there with the swf, it opens normally.

    So, this firefox thingie is nice

    But the original problem with phantomflanflinger is not firefox nor the flash player, it has to be that he's link points to an unexistent file.
    my blog: blog.innocuo
    Sponsored by your mom.

  5. #25
    associate admedia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    is
    Posts
    1,347
    Quote Originally Posted by argonauta
    it has to be that he's link points to an unexistent file.
    LOL, that's what I said all along!!!

    I think you got a broken linky there.

    edit: yep, and once i rename that jpeg to break the link, it pulls up a blank window with one behind it about documents... i guess it just pulls up a related page to what it thinks your looking for... directory name... like you said argo.
    Last edited by admedia; 08-09-2005 at 03:13 PM.

  6. #26
    Harry Tuttle phantomflanflinger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Somewhere in the 20th Century...
    Posts
    387
    asheep was right.

    I tried about twenty links to existant files and five to nonexistant, makes no difference.

    Firefox 1.06 (on this PC) misinterprets the command Flash Player sends to it. The reason I asked is a client wants a standalone Flash job I have to deliver as a swf and as a projector.

    No matter what the filename, Firefox simply adds 'work' to the I'm feeling lucky URL, http://www.google.com/search?btnI=I...oe=UTF-8&q=
    Although, it does try to go to www.filename.whatever if I put the swf and the target file in C:\
    We're all in it together

  7. #27
    sophisticated
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    288
    ok, just to put it simple - if flash player can't find the file it just takes and sends the whole broken path as it is to ff? am i right?
    so what's the hubab all about then?

  8. #28
    associate admedia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    is
    Posts
    1,347
    Quote Originally Posted by MechaPiano
    ok, just to put it simple - if flash player can't find the file it just takes and sends the whole broken path as it is to ff? am i right?
    so what's the hubab all about then?
    exactly.

    the link goes in a tab behind whatever the default page is.

    with FF closed.

  9. #29
    poet and narcisist argonauta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Under the bed
    Posts
    2,080
    Quote Originally Posted by phantomflanflinger
    asheep was right.

    I tried about twenty links to existant files and five to nonexistant, makes no difference.

    Firefox 1.06 (on this PC) misinterprets the command Flash Player sends to it. The reason I asked is a client wants a standalone Flash job I have to deliver as a swf and as a projector.

    No matter what the filename, Firefox simply adds 'work' to the I'm feeling lucky URL, http://www.google.com/search?btnI=I...oe=UTF-8&q=
    Although, it does try to go to www.filename.whatever if I put the swf and the target file in C:\

    try this: instead of getURL, load the pic inside a movieclip (as long as it is non progressive it should work) does it display? if not, then the problem is the paths, if it does display, then we have another type of problem.
    my blog: blog.innocuo
    Sponsored by your mom.

  10. #30
    Harry Tuttle phantomflanflinger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Somewhere in the 20th Century...
    Posts
    387
    The problem only happens with getURL, knew that.
    I found ths problem quite interesting until I found the boringly logical explanation.
    Anyway, maybe Firefox won't do it if Flash Player 8 is sending the command. We'll see.
    We're all in it together

  11. #31
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    0
    I think this is not the fault of firefox, the webite has done something to promote or seems to be doorway pages in between.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width


HTML5 Development Center

Poll by Flashkit.com