A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: Cache problems with ie

Howdy.
    I realize there have been other posts concerning this. My problem is that I've tried most if not all of the solutions that have been suggested. Let me say up front that I'm not a flash developer at all, but I'm trying to get a movie to interface with some dynamic content (cold fusion in this case).

We're using flash 4; the flash movie needs to be able to read in either: the contents of a text file; or, the output of a script. Then, it uses that text in the display. No problem, both approaches work.

The problem is that Internet Explorer 5 will not reload the swf after the text file (or script output) has changed. I've tried the following solutions:

1. putting meta tags to force no cache
    2. adding "?id=<random string>" to the link to the swf
    3. copying and renaming the swf ("<unique id>.swf") and loading this file instead of the original.

No luck. Even using the "new" flash files, which to me is really bizarre. Any suggestions? We don't want to use flash 5. Thanks for any info you can provide.

Rick

I think I know what you mean :)

I'm not sure if what you are doing is what I think you are doing but here goes.

I do allot of flash work that involves using server side text files for dynamic content, when the content of the text files change it isn't reflected in the flash movie. The easiest way around this is to use a cgi script to read the text file and output the text to flash.

Cheers,
    Clayton