dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Using the Flash Player Detection Kit

  1. #1
    Flasher
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    1,365

    Using the Flash Player Detection Kit

    Hi. I downloaded the Flash Player Detection Kit from Macromedia.com. I would like to use express install, but have 2 questions:
    What about people without any version of Flash Player? Will they see the express install? Should I add another method?
    and
    How do I actually apply it to my Flash movie? Should I make a new scene before/after the loading and have the express install?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    2,849
    The likelihood that they'll have a version of the Flash player is pretty high. Flash comes as part of most major browsers. Odds are if they don't have Flash, they purposely removed it and won't be interested in installing it to view your site anyway.

  3. #3
    Flasher
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    1,365
    Good point . Isn't it only compatible with fp 6+ though? (Probably a stupid ?? too). Also, how do I put the express install into my Flash Document?

  4. #4
    Senior Member tonypa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Estonia
    Posts
    8,227
    Express install only works if they already have player 6+. For people with player 5 or no Flash player at all you can use Flash detection scripts from
    publish settings >> html >> detect flash
    This creates javascript functions in the html code and generates message if viewer does not have Flash player.

    Sorry, I have not yet used express install myself so dont know how exactly you use it.

  5. #5
    Flasher
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    1,365
    bumpbumpbumpbumpbump

  6. #6
    Relaxing tmoore935's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    colorado, usa
    Posts
    1,713
    I have installed the flash detection kit.(not the express as I couldn't figure it out.) The site is http://www.diversioncentral.com. (The site is unfinished and mostly experimental). Then I unistalled the flash player on my laptop to test it and it does work. But the swfs still appear in large squares with the small little square in the upper lefthand corner. (hope that makes sense.) How could I make it go to a different page altogether with the links to install flash player? I tried the pic.jpg as the suggested alternative but it does not replace the swf when no player is found. it posts the pic and the broken swf at the same time. I ask this because I seem to have seen it done this way on other web sites.--Thank you
    Any programming language is at its best before it is implemented and used.

  7. #7
    Flasher
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    1,365
    Possibly because you're using MX, but that is kind of wierd. Macromedia should have made a better description.

  8. #8
    Relaxing tmoore935's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    colorado, usa
    Posts
    1,713
    I am using flash 8 from studio 8. I published the index swf as flash 8. I used the video at
    http://www.macromedia.com/devnet/fla...detection.html
    Any programming language is at its best before it is implemented and used.

  9. #9
    BUMB....because I'm look as well to figure out how to use it....

  10. #10
    Flasher
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    1,365
    I'm going to try putting the badge after the preloader.....I'll post my results.

  11. #11
    Senior Member tonypa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Estonia
    Posts
    8,227
    I tried to add express install and it is really confusing and not easy at all. The fla from Flash detection kit doesnt mention anything about the variables needed to be passed from html code. It is also missing all the stuff to be shown when update fails. Not to mention it does not work properly if you have player 8.5 installed. I am not impressed at all

    Is there still need for step-by-step tutorial on how to make express install work on your own movie? I could throw together little explanation on how it can be done if someone is interested.

  12. #12
    Relaxing tmoore935's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    colorado, usa
    Posts
    1,713
    I belive that I got mine to work. I think my problem was that I used tables created in dreamweaver. my site is http://www.diversioncentral.com/

    Here is what I did. Please comment if you find any flaw.
    1. Got the flash uninstaller from macromedia for my laptop and got rid of the flash player.
    2.On my main pc I used flash 8 pro and clicked the flash 8 settings and said "detect flash settings. "
    3. In the html for the flash in the body (not for java) I changed it and added a pic. it is as follows (it was a wild azz guess for me)

    var alternateContent = 'Alternate HTML content should be placed here.'
    + 'This content requires the Macromedia Flash Player.'
    + '<center><a href=http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflash/>Get Flash now<BR><BR><BR><img src="read_me.gif" width="400" height="200" alt="get flash" border="0" align=""></script></a></center>';

    4. I uploaded the pic and the new html file.
    5. tested on my laptop and the loading pic came up and seems to look right. (yeah!)
    6. This was tested on xp. I don't have 98 at the moment and have no access to a mac. I figure if someone has not gotten SP2 yet, then they are going to find more problems then having no flash player. But I need to test on win2000 and 98.

    Any comments? I am wide open for suggestions. I would rather have a page that only takes one click and the player is loaded, which goes back to my own page.

    Also, were do people get flash 8.5? Is this beta???

    Thanks for the help
    Any programming language is at its best before it is implemented and used.

  13. #13
    Senior Member tonypa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Estonia
    Posts
    8,227
    Quote Originally Posted by tmoore935
    Any comments? I am wide open for suggestions. I would rather have a page that only takes one click and the player is loaded, which goes back to my own page.

    Also, were do people get flash 8.5? Is this beta???
    Maybe you wish to add picture for the bowsers with no script support too, its in the noscript section:

    <noscript>
    // Provide alternate content for browsers that do not support scripting
    // or for those that have scripting disabled.
    Alternate HTML content should be placed here. This content requires the Macromedia Flash Player.
    <a href="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflash/">Get Flash</a>
    </noscript>


    You can get Flash player 8.5 from
    http://labs.macromedia.com/
    You need to download Flex2 and it installs player 8.5 too. But its still in alpha, not even beta.

  14. #14
    Relaxing tmoore935's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    colorado, usa
    Posts
    1,713
    Thank you,
    So do you think this is a good way to detect flash players? I will change the java script. (not even sure of how to turn it off in IE so as to check).

    As for flex 2, I will ignore it for now.
    Any programming language is at its best before it is implemented and used.

  15. #15
    Senior Member tonypa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Estonia
    Posts
    8,227
    Quote Originally Posted by tmoore935
    Thank you,
    So do you think this is a good way to detect flash players? I will change the java script. (not even sure of how to turn it off in IE so as to check).
    Yes, I am using basically same script too

    Except I had to rewrite it little in DetectFlashVer function because
    (versionNum >= reqVer)
    does not work correctly if you set reqRevision higher then installed revision even if your minor version is lower.
    (for example you require player 8.0.22 and user has player 8.5.11 then it returns false because it looks only for 22>11 and not that 0<5).

    Here is tutorial, hope it helps someone:
    http://www.tonypa.pri.ee/express/tut01.html
    Last edited by tonypa; 10-24-2005 at 01:26 PM.

  16. #16
    Flasher
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    1,365
    Ignoring it too :group hug:. They basically DESTROYED Flash!!!! They put EVERY SINGLE IMPORTANT and USED ActionScripts into a class....!!!!! I hate MM for this!

  17. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Wales, UK
    Posts
    11

    Getting the resulting code through the W3C validator

    I noticed a Javascript issue which resulted in validation failure.

    It was becaause var-- was used to decrement a variables value.
    just replaced with var = var -1 and it flew through the validator ok.

    Has anyone else had dealing with validation?
    yippy kai yai mother
    --------------------

  18. #18
    Senior Member tonypa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Estonia
    Posts
    8,227
    I dont know about validator (I know very little about javascript), but I recently got message from MM-Adobe saying they are planning to update the Flash detection kit.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center