A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: Button URL actionscript?

Button URL actionscript?

Hey all,

New to the sites here. I know this is a very basic generic newbie question i'm sure has been answered a million times but I'm kind of in a hurry and need a quick answer.

I'm new to flash 8, and only know a little from the days of flash 4. Back then i remember there was an option or field on a button that would set the URL the button linked to. Now I'm told you have to insert the actionscript for the URL. I think its geturl, but after plugging in various values I still am getting errors.

What is the EXACT syntax, or piece of code to say link to...

/index.aspx

In the same window, in otherwords _self. Also where should I have this actionscript? On the button "click area" layer?

Thanks. Seems it used to be easier, but maybe its just me.

some dude
    ahhh, the memories .....flash 4 .... tell target

Locate the button clip. Right click on it > Actions (unless actions is already open then just left click)

Type into actions
    on(press){
    getURL("/index.php",_self);
    }

Or you could do it on the main timeline
    buttonInstanceName.onPress = function(){
    getURL("/index.php",self);
    }

replacing buttonInstanceName with whatever you named your button instance

Thanks very much for your help.

One quick thing...does it make a difference which way i do it? For example, if I put it in the main timeline will that affect loading, or allow for people to click the button before the animation is finished or something?

Ideally if that were the case, I'd like to have the option to let people internally who browse the site alot to be able to click the buttons quicker.

Either way, I can at least get it working for my meeting with the boss today.

FK's Official Mac Hater jasonsplace's Avatar