A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: Anyone with phpBB / VB / IPB want to test something for me?

  1. #1
    www.intensewd.com
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    450

    Add image uploading to your forum

    About a month ago I made myself an image hosting site, http://www.imgfree.net.

    I've just completed a new module for it that allows forum owners to integrate it with their forums, so your users can upload images directly to my site without even leaving yours.

    I'm after a couple of people to test it for me!

    http://www.imgfree.net/integrate if anyone is interested there's some info about it there.

    Basically it's a javascript popup that can be added in as an 'UPLOAD IMAGE' button with the rest of the post options, either through other javascript or by editing your page.

    Thanks guys
    Ben

  2. #2
    sophisticated
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    288
    This is just extremly nice!
    10x

  3. #3
    www.intensewd.com
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    450
    Is it working? Can I see it?

  4. #4
    sophisticated
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    288
    it's working allright

    sorry I can't show it to you,
    my forum is not in english,
    but it looks like this





    do you change the quality of the image?
    will it be free?

  5. #5
    www.intensewd.com
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    450
    Cool. Would you prefer if I made a proper pop-up version for you?

    Edit:

    It is free. The images resize only if they're bigger than the width the user selects. They save as high-quality jpegs, it's really only for photos not stupid 5mb animated gifs.

  6. #6
    sophisticated
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    288
    Quote Originally Posted by benlowry
    Would you prefer if I made a proper pop-up version for you?
    what do you mean? this one is ok. what kind of improvements have you had in mind?

  7. #7
    kevin_smithers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Swindon, UK
    Posts
    375
    I'll put it onto a couple of my forums tonight, it looks great :-)

    Hay Fredi what about a arcade mod for this? I was thinking of a addon that woudl re size any picture to the size of the avatars fro the arcade as not everybody has access or the knowledge to resize a picture.

  8. #8
    www.intensewd.com
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    450
    I mean in addition to the iframe model - so you can choose whether you want to do what you've done with a button and just have it launch a popup, or you can have an iframe version.

    kevin I can setup a resize script for you if you'd like

  9. #9
    sophisticated
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    288
    Quote Originally Posted by benlowry
    I mean in addition to the iframe model - so you can choose whether you want to do what you've done with a button and just have it launch a popup, or you can have an iframe version.
    that would be great.
    BTW, is it possible to remove that scroll line?
    can you add more sizes? (I could really use 500 px).

  10. #10
    Information Architect Subway's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    4,779
    Quote Originally Posted by kevin_smithers
    Hay Fredi what about a arcade mod for this?
    No time right now, but I will remember it.

    Fredi

    PS: Did you see the link I've posted on my arcade? The AJAX Google map chat?
    Mind Share Projects [ <- my latest projects ] [ my splash page -> ] Fredi Bach
    OS X Code (r,s) [ my Mac, web 2.0 and programming blog ]
    Not A Blog [ my personal weblog ]
    jMe Feed Aggregator [ my latest most famous project ]
    Web Command Line [ use the web like a real geek ]

  11. #11
    www.intensewd.com
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    450
    Specify a height, in the longer option you can specify width/height/css, you don't need to do all 3 though just adding:
    <script type="text/javascript">
    var height = 400;
    </script>
    <script ..... the upload form script ></script>
    beforehand should fix it nicely.

    New heights are up now, 400/500/600/800....1600, then I'll organize the popup verson. Can someone write instructions for how to add the JS to launch the popup to the button? cause I've not used ipbb/vb/phpbb/any of that stuff heh.

  12. #12
    sophisticated
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    288
    I can write one for VB, but not right now (it's 1AM here...)
    I'll post it here as soon as I have a free minute.

    [edit]

    wait, "how to add the JS to launch the popup to the button?"
    http://javascript.internet.com/gener...up-window.html
    Last edited by MechaPiano; 10-25-2005 at 06:05 PM.

  13. #13
    www.intensewd.com
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    450
    I mean for the end users that want to implement the popup version on their site? The popup version is ready btw

  14. #14
    kevin_smithers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Swindon, UK
    Posts
    375
    Quote Originally Posted by benlowry
    kevin I can setup a resize script for you if you'd like
    That would be great :-) I'll PM you with some details of the images size we need for the arcade, my members will love that.

  15. #15
    www.intensewd.com
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    450
    Do we have PM's here @ FK? Drop me an email: ben @ intensewd . com

  16. #16
    Senior Member zakp0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    510
    Dude, this is awesome, is the full feature loaded version on that URL you posted above? I wanna add this to my forum too!

  17. #17
    www.intensewd.com
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    450
    Hi zakpo - it's the exact same "quick upload" from the main site @ imgfree

  18. #18
    www.intensewd.com
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    450
    I've worked out how to integrate it both @ invisionfree.com and with IPB @ forumer.com for anyone interested:

    Add it to IPB @ forumer.com
    Html Template
    -> Manage HTML
    -> Post Screen Sections
    -> "Edit single" on Post: Code Buttons & Post Text area

    Find this block of code:
    Code:
    <input type='button' accesskey='g' value=' IMG ' onclick='tag_image()' class='codebuttons' name='img' onmouseover="hstat('img')" />
    And change it to this block of code:
    Code:
    <input type='button' accesskey='g' value=' IMG ' onclick='tag_image()'          class='codebuttons' name='img' onmouseover="hstat('img')" />
    <script language="javascript" src="http://forum.imgfree.net/uploadpop.js"></script>
    <noscript><a href="http://www.imgfree.net">Image Hosting</a></noscript>
    <input type='button' value='UPLOAD IMG' onclick='LaunchImgFree();' class='codebuttons' />
    Add it to an InvisionFree forum
    Code:
    <script language="javascript" src="http://forum.imgfree.net/uploadpop.js"></script>
    <noscript><a href="http://www.imgfree.net">Image Hosting</a></noscript>
    <script type="text/javascript">
    var b = document.getElementsByTagName("input");
    var numb = b.length;
    for(i=0;i<numb; i++)
    {
    	if(b[i].name == "img")
    	{
      // get the parent element
      var c = b[i].parentNode;
    
      if(c.innerHTML.indexOf("<BR>") > 0)
      {
      	// internet explorer
      	var ctextarr = c.innerHTML.split("<BR>");
    
      	// put the inner text back together with the new button
      	c.innerHTML = ctextarr[0] + "<BR>" + ctextarr[1];
      	c.innerHTML += "<input type=\"button\" class=\"codebuttons\" value=\"UPLOAD IMAGE\" onclick=\"LaunchImgFree();\" title=\"Upload Image\" />";
      	c.innerHTML += "<BR>" + ctextarr[2];
      	break;
      }
      else if(c.innerHTML.indexOf("<br>") > 0)
      {
      	// moz & ff
      	var ctextarr = c.innerHTML.split("<br>");
    
      	// put the inner text back together with the new button
      	c.innerHTML = ctextarr[0] + "<br>" + ctextarr[1];
      	c.innerHTML += "<input type=\"button\" class=\"codebuttons\" value=\"UPLOAD IMAGE\" onclick=\"LaunchImgFree();\" title=\"Upload Image\" />";
      	c.innerHTML += "<br>" + ctextarr[2];
      	break;
      }
    	}
    }
    </script>
    Anyone Else
    If you actually have access to the files it's simply a matter of adding this code to your post page where you want the button to appear.
    Code:
    <script language="javascript" src="http://forum.imgfree.net/uploadpop.js"></script>
    <noscript><a href="http://www.imgfree.net">Image Hosting</a></noscript>
    <input type='button' value='UPLOAD IMG' onclick='LaunchImgFree();' />
    Enjoy guys

  19. #19
    Phantom Flasher... Markp.com's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Posts
    16,034
    Moved to members sites...

  20. #20
    www.intensewd.com
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    450
    There's been some new features added to it today. When a user uploads an image it now creates a thumbnail max. 120x120 pixels, and provides the codes to display the thumb and link to the large.

    Other new features include an option to not resize the image for pictures < 512kb, and the appearance has been improved for the "done" page.

    Nearly 50 forums are using it already so I'm pretty stoked and looking at more features to add

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center