A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: A little help would be GREATLY appreciated

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    82

    A little help would be GREATLY appreciated

    how do you get a url to open to a new browser window and still have the
    site you are looking from still be up.(hope that makes sense) it's late and I'm dozin' fast. I thougt these computers were supposed to make our live easier. Thanks in advance. Peace.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    18
    I think you should try "_blank" as the parameter. so the new url will open to a blank new page, instead of the parent one. "http://www.flashkit.com/, _blank" ; such

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    82
    didn't work, anyone else know?

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    18
    my code might be wrong, but you should work on the _.... parameters. good luck

  5. #5
    Flasher
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    1,365
    Well, I'm almost positive it's done with JavaScript. Both windows would be up, but the original would be foucsed on. I don't know the script, but you should try searching for the focus(); action (javascript). If this is what you want, I think that's the way to achieve it. If you just want to open a new window, (whether it goes on top of the current one or not) you could use this on a button:

    code:

    on (release) {
    getURL("http://www.flashkit.com", _blank);
    }



    or this on a frame:
    code:

    getURL("http://www.flashkit.com", _blank);



    if you want to open a new window, and have focus on that, use this script on a button:
    code:

    on (release) {
    getURL("javascript:NewWindow=window.open('http://www.flashkit.com','PopUp'); NewWindow.focus(); void(0);");
    }


    NOTE: BE SURE NOT TO WRAP ANY OF THOSE LINES (ABOVE)

    and this on a frame:
    code:

    getURL("javascript:NewWindow=window.open('http://www.flashkit.com','PopUp'); NewWindow.focus(); void(0);");
    }


    NOTE: BE SURE NOT TO WRAP ANY OF THOSE LINES (ABOVE)

    Hope that helps,
    Sportzguy933

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    82
    NICE you rock, you rule! thanks for the help.

  7. #7
    Senior Member whispers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    CFA2h (respect the HEX)
    Posts
    12,756
    javascript would ONLY be needed if you wanted to size or position the new browser window... otherwise yoru first code getURL using the _blank parameter would be correct.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center