A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: preloader trouble; swf file loads, doesn't work

  1. #1
    SnowKrash
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    32

    preloader trouble; swf file loads, doesn't work

    Hi,

    I have a preloader that loads an .swf file that is my entire website. Once the swf loads, none of the buttons work.

    I hope this is a common problem so that it doesn't take too much out of someone to help.

    This is the site with the preloader:

    http://www.krashonline.com/clients/ByQ/test.html

    Also, there's a weird momentary thing that happens when the preloader is finished... it seems to jump to a frame later in the movie before it starts from the beginning, then it plays from the beginning.

    Here is my .fla file if that will help. I appreciate any help, even if it's just to point me to a tute I haven't been through. Thanks.

    BTW, the site without the preloader, is here:

    http://www.krashonline.com/clients/ByQ/
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Flash Gordon McUsher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Krautland
    Posts
    1,560
    You are loading the main flash into a container,
    if you now use _root in your main movie, it refers to _root, but you actually want it to refer to "container" ..
    Code:
    var empty = this.createEmptyMovieClip("container", this.getNextHighestDepth());
    empty._x = 0;
    empty._y = 0;
    //
    empty._lockroot = true;
    Should do the trick
    My letters on the F1 key have faded, how are yours today?

  3. #3
    SnowKrash
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    32
    Oh! Thank you! I was trying to figure out how to delete it, thank you!!!!! I'll never forget that you helped me for as long as I live!

  4. #4
    Flash Gordon McUsher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Krautland
    Posts
    1,560
    Lol.. you're very thankful for one line of code
    My letters on the F1 key have faded, how are yours today?

  5. #5
    SnowKrash
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    32
    ok, now maybe you can help me get rid of that weird frame flash that still appears after the preloader finishes. Then my life will be complete :-)

  6. #6
    Flash Gordon McUsher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Krautland
    Posts
    1,560
    this "A Stlye all your own____ " you see initially? no clue without having a look into the fla
    My letters on the F1 key have faded, how are yours today?

  7. #7
    SnowKrash
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    32
    Quote Originally Posted by McUsher
    this "A Stlye all your own____ " you see initially? no clue without having a look into the fla
    ok, the swf without the preloader is here so you can see what it's supposed to do. It is the same swf pulled into the preloader:

    http://www.krashonline.com/clients/ByQ/

    it is fine without the preloader, but once the preloader is added "A All your own___________" flashes in quickly, then starts from the beginning and plays correctly.

    I wanted to attach the fla file of the loaded file, but compressed, it's 2.87 mb -- over the 2mb limit for u/l here.
    Thanks!

  8. #8
    SnowKrash
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    32
    so, what I'm saying, is that it doesn't seem to be a problem with the loaded .swf

  9. #9
    SnowKrash
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    32
    you know, I think it's because I'm fiddling with the alpha and using the alpha to determine when it's loaded... I'll play with that to try to figure this out. Thank you so much :-)

  10. #10
    SnowKrash
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    32
    ok, that wasn't it. I'll keep trying

  11. #11
    Flash Gordon McUsher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Krautland
    Posts
    1,560
    As far as i remember if you load those thingies, and set their alpha in first frame,
    they show up initially for one frame...
    If you put the code, that makes it invisible on the MovieClip: onClipEvent("load") it should work...

    That just sprung into my mind.
    My letters on the F1 key have faded, how are yours today?

  12. #12
    SnowKrash
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    32
    sorry, I've been doing flash for all of 4 weeks, so could you explain a little bit about what you mean? Where do I put onClipEvent("load")?

  13. #13
    Flash Gordon McUsher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Krautland
    Posts
    1,560
    First, did you script the alpha? if not, it is not the problem..
    My letters on the F1 key have faded, how are yours today?

  14. #14
    SnowKrash
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    32
    the only scripted alpha is in the preloader file

  15. #15
    Flash Gordon McUsher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Krautland
    Posts
    1,560
    Hmm.. i am outta ideas then.. check your Private Messages, i sent you my email address..
    My letters on the F1 key have faded, how are yours today?

  16. #16
    SnowKrash
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    32
    Thanks, I sent you the file :-)

  17. #17
    SnowKrash
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    32
    Okay, I figured it out... I simply took this line out of the preloader file:
    container._alpha = 0;
    now it works!
    Thanks for your help!

  18. #18
    Flash Gordon McUsher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Krautland
    Posts
    1,560
    Oh it was a bug in the preloader cheers mate..
    My letters on the F1 key have faded, how are yours today?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center