A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: Help with Flash MP3 player

Help with Flash MP3 player

Help with Flash MP3 player

I'm sure this is very simple but I'm retarded. I am brand new to flash and am having trouble using this cool flash mp3 player at:
    http://www.flashkit.com/movies/Sound...-561/index.php

I wrote a song that I saved as “goodbye.mp3” and want to play it on a website using this player. I’m doing something wrong because when I view the HTML page with the player, I’m not getting any sound. When I test the swf file without the player it works.

Here is what I did for the "TRACK1.swf" file

It says to create usable SWF music files to create a new swf file with 3 keyframes.

1st KeyFrame stop action, so I put this:
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    // Stops the playhead at Frame 1.
    stop();

2nd KeyFrame insert your music file, so I put this:
    ----------------(this is where I think I messed up)--------------------------------
    bg_sound.loadSound("goodbye.mp3", true);
    bg_sound.onID3 = function() {
    songinfo_txt.text = "(" + this.id3.artist + ") " + this.id3.album + " - " + this.id3.track + " - "
    + this.id3.songname;
    for (prop in this.id3) {
    trace(prop+" = "+this.id3[prop]);
    }
    trace("ID3 loaded.");
    };
    this.play_mc.onRelease = function() {
    /* get the current offset. if you stop all sounds and click the play button, the MP3 continues from
    where it was stopped, instead of restarting from the beginning. */
    var numSecondsOffset:Number = (bg_sound.position/1000);
    bg_sound.start(numSecondsOffset);
    };
    this.stop_mc.onRelease = function() {
    stopAllSounds();
    };

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    3rd KeyFrame to stop all sounds so I put this:
    stopAllSounds();

OK, then I exported the file at “TRACK1.swf”
    Then my HTML file looks like this:

<html>