Button Asigning (hyperlink) again
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Button Asigning (hyperlink) again

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    14

    Button Asigning (hyperlink) again

    OK,

    I can get the button to work when I point it at a website like www.pbase.com/ifpdigital but I want to chec out a folder I created in simple viewer 1.7. So I ftp'd it to my current folder where my website is hosted.

    It looks like this

    on (release) {
    getURL("http://www.ifpdigital.com/children.html");
    }

    It doesn't work... then I remembered my site is set to the index.html as its opening file?
    Is this why it won't work? I thought if I pointed it to the children.html file, it would open it up in it's own window?

    Help please.

    Thanks,

    Robert

  2. #2
    Moderator whispers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    CFA2h (respect the HEX)
    Posts
    12,697
    did you just say you put it in a folder?? (created with simple viwer)

    on (release) {
    getURL("http://www.ifpdigital.com/folderName/children.html");
    }

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    14
    Really all I did was dumped the files which includes the children.html file into my website folder. The www.ifpdigital.com should get me there. I thought a simple /children.html would then open it. Not so?

  4. #4
    Moderator whispers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    CFA2h (respect the HEX)
    Posts
    12,697
    yes it should... are you sure the file is there...doesnt load for me either.. but it is live..correct?

    wouldnt it be this:

    on (release) {
    getURL("http://www.pbase.com/ifpdigital/children.html");

    I dont know your directory structure. are you re-irecting to your site?


    }

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    14
    No, it is my current website.
    www.ifpdigital.com
    Go there it is live.
    I will go to my FPT software and check to make sure. i uploaded it last night.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    14
    It is on my site but I tried opening it through the ftp viewer and it did not open. It opens fine on my hard drive. It may have got messed up during the upload. I will try it again.

    Is there a way to test it on my hard drive with out uploading it?

    Thanks for your help.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    14
    Ok,

    I just uploaded the entire folder created by simpleviewer. So the link now should work as..... http://www.ifpdigital.com/children/children.html
    but it doesn't?

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    14
    Ok, It is the folder/ files created by simple viewer because I have a file portraits.htm
    and I typed http://www.ifpdigital.com/portraits.htm and it worked fine. I will go to the help area with simple viewer.

    Still, there has to be a way to test a file without uploading it.

    Thanks,
    Robert

  9. #9
    Moderator whispers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    CFA2h (respect the HEX)
    Posts
    12,697
    well it sounds liek whatever that "SImple Viwer" thing is..is the cause of all yrou problems. what is it?..and why are you even using it?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width


HTML5 Development Center

Poll by Flashkit.com