A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Flash Login Form

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    9

    Flash Login Form

    I already have a php file and where the script should post the username and password, but how do I make the actual form? And how do you set it to post? Thanks to anybody that helps!

    -Shane Reustle
    Crath Networks Founder

  2. #2
    FK'n_dog a_modified_dog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    "aaarf"
    Posts
    9,176
    how do I make the actual form

    use Input text fields, set the password field to Password Mode ( will appear as ***** )

    how do you set it to post

    use loadVars.sendAndLoad -

    this example sends a password (pwd.text) and category (cat.text) to the php file and the result is displayed in a dynamic text field (out1.text) Two buttons (btnA and btnB) are used to send the category- modify to suit your purposes

    /* php file -

    < ?php
    $pass = "a12b";
    $password = $_POST['pwd'];
    $category = $_POST['cat'];

    function control(){
    global $category,$password,$pass;
    if($pass == $password){
    if($category == "catA") echo "&category=A was selected&";
    elseif($category == "catB") echo "&category=B was selected&";
    } else {
    echo "&category=Enter correct password";
    }
    }
    control();
    ?>
    */

    // the Flash file -

    PATH = "http://www.PATH TO YOUR/test.php";
    //pwd.text = "a12b"; // for testing

    function checker(){
    send2Php = new LoadVars();
    send2Php.pwd = pwd.text;
    send2Php.cat = cat.text;

    getFromPhp = new LoadVars();
    getFromPhp.onLoad = function(){
    trace(unescape(getFromPhp));
    out1.text = getFromPhp.category;
    };
    send2Php.sendAndLoad(PATH,getFromPhp,"POST");
    };

    btnA.onRelease = function(){
    cat.text = "catA"; checker(); };
    btnb.onRelease = function(){
    cat.text = "catB"; checker(); };

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    9
    i currently have a login script already, http://www.crath.com/login.php?act=in and username is "username" and password is "password" to post the data. Would that make any kind of difference in your script? or can u have it post it right on there.

  4. #4
    FK'n_dog a_modified_dog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    "aaarf"
    Posts
    9,176
    unable to reply as -
    The requested URL /login.php was not found on this server

    can you copy/paste the php and the instance names of your username and password input text fields ?

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    9
    ok, i will reply again when it is back up. Were redoing some stuff. Now im just curious because im not using flash anymore, but could use on our demo templates.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    5
    If i could add on a question to this..

    Im trying to do the same thing, but im at the point where i need to set up a php file (i have no idea what to do with that... or where to put it or anything) and then (since im kinda a newb) i need to know pretty much in baby terms how to get it to send whats put into some input text fields like a login.

  7. #7
    It's a long way to the middle launchpad67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Prescott, Arizona
    Posts
    1,387
    Quote Originally Posted by Dexi
    If i could add on a question to this..

    Im trying to do the same thing, but im at the point where i need to set up a php file (i have no idea what to do with that... or where to put it or anything) and then (since im kinda a newb) i need to know pretty much in baby terms how to get it to send whats put into some input text fields like a login.
    Dexi, does this need to be a secure login? Or will everyone get the same password just to access a part of the site?
    Do you need for people to register, or create a username and password?

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    5
    well. its more of a registration process, not a login, i guess. the info they put it is sent to a storage file, then called upon later for acess.

  9. #9
    It's a long way to the middle launchpad67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Prescott, Arizona
    Posts
    1,387
    Ok, well seaarch the movies section of this site for 'login'. You'll find a bunch of examples.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    5
    thanks

    er. edit: Im not finding anything on how to get the info they put in to be sent to a storage file. Ive got creating the template and all the text fields and buttons. i just need to get the registration info, (User and pass) to be sent to a file, like on my computer, or a webpage or something (i heard about php on a site but i have no idea what to do) and then recalled when they try to log in.
    Last edited by Dexi; 01-22-2006 at 03:15 PM.

  11. #11
    FK'n_dog a_modified_dog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    "aaarf"
    Posts
    9,176
    check if php is installed on your server. paste this code to a text editor -
    PHP Code:
    <?php
    phpinfo
    ();
    phpinfo(INFO_MODULES);
    ?>
    and save it as phpinfo.php and upload it to the root folder of your server.
    access it in your browser - http://yoursite/phpinfo.php
    if php is installed, you will see something like --
    System FreeBSD server29----
    Build Date Nov 3 2005 14:10:22
    Configure Command ----
    if it not installed, check if your server supports cgi scripts ( a lot do )
    there are lots of cgi scripts that will write info to a text file

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center