dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: embedding fonts

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    54

    embedding fonts

    i'm using static text fields which i'm told by the flash help files automatically embed the font that i'm using but this is not the case. i have tried the use device font option as well as anti-alias for readability option and both do not embed the font. is the only option to use a dynamic text field and choose to embed the fonts? thanks

    jeremy boyd

  2. #2
    Senior Member Ray Beez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    2,796
    The Device font option does not embed fonts. It tells Flash to use a default font.

    Are you sure you don't have something like 'HTML' turned on? (Though even that shouldn't affect it). Can we see an example?

  3. #3
    Moderator enpstudios's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Tampa, Fl.
    Posts
    11,282
    Using static text automatically embeds the font, but if you want you can break the text apart.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    54
    even when i was using the anti-alias option on static text it still wasn't embedding. i imported the font as a font symbol into the library and that seems to have solved the problem although it is still a little quirky. thanks for your help

    jeremy boyd

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    137
    Ok so if write something as stativ text it shuold look the same on someones PC that doesn't have the font right?

    But if I use a dynamic field what do I do?
    Life is immaterial to the God's of sands of time

  6. #6
    Senior Member tonypa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Estonia
    Posts
    8,227
    For dynamic text you should embed characters you need to be shown in text box. Then the font is included within swf file. There is Embed... button for it in the properties panel of dynamic text box.

  7. #7
    Moderator enpstudios's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Tampa, Fl.
    Posts
    11,282
    Quote Originally Posted by Keano
    Ok so if write something as stativ text it shuold look the same on someones PC that doesn't have the font right?

    But if I use a dynamic field what do I do?

    Yes

    You must embed the text !! Like Tonypa said.
    You can also embed the text by Actionscript !!

  8. #8
    Genesis of creative reflexes.. mysticpixels's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    163

    How did u import font as font symbol??

    Quote Originally Posted by thebone
    even when i was using the anti-alias option on static text it still wasn't embedding. i imported the font as a font symbol into the library and that seems to have solved the problem although it is still a little quirky. thanks for your help

    jeremy boyd
    how did u import the font as a font symbol?? i couldnt import a font ..... help wud be gr8....!

    Cheers
    • Innovative Websites - (Flash/HTML-CSS)
    • Flash Intros/Animations
    • Interface/Layout Designing/Logo Designing

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center